North in Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Trøndelag » Trondheim
July 25th 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

From Antarctica in the south I have now reached the Arctic circle and the land of fjords and vikings-Norway. And what wonderful scenery on the way. I have been heading slowly north in search of the midnight sun viewing the fjords and lakes along the way, and I must say that even though I didn't see the actual sun at midnight-just lots of cloud-it has been very strange to have constant daylight for a whole week!!. Koalas can't sleep if it's not dark so I didn't get much sleep (well maybe some can sleep in the daylight)(actually all of them can just not this one!).

I have also been having some adventure here. I climbed a ski jump-lots of steps-needed a big rest after that one. Went for a fjord cruise, hiked for an hour to reach a glacier, and I was also on the winning bobsled team in Lillehammer making it down the track in only 66.15 seconds. I think that makes me the fastest koala ever on the planet-yes?? It was very scary but soooo much fun.

Yesterday I caught a bus to a charming little place named Hell. Not much there really, just a train station
Ski jumpingSki jumpingSki jumping

Holmenkollen, home of the 1952 Olympics
so it wasn't that exciting and I didn't hang around long.

Now I have decided to head off in search of Santa. I have seen lots of reindeer so I know he's around somewhere. I'll put in a good word for you all if I find him.

Bye for now..




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

GeirangerGeiranger
Geiranger

Cruising the fjords


1st August 2006

Godfrey, you're my hero
Hi Godfrey! You know, you're the first koala I've known that's been to hell and back. Glad you got out alright. Umm, now what exactly is the name of your bobsled?... :-D

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb