It's A Bad Sign When There's A Builder's Skip Outside Your Hotel


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Southern Norway » Kristiansand
June 14th 2006
Published: June 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've arrived - and started the first leg of my journey. I'm here in Kristiansand, about as far south in Norway as you can get. The boat trip over from Newcastle was easy - sitting in a bar watching a band play whilst the North Sea passed by outside. I have a feeling it might be one of the easier journeys of the trip! The North Sea was as calm as a mill pond the whole way and in the distance you could see a big electrical storm - stayed inside with my beer watching that one!

The first view of Norway was a beautiful fjord, with rocky islands on either side and small red and white timber houses perched on top, surrounded by pine trees - idyllic! Of course, it looks lovely in 30C sunshine that we've got at the mo - not so nice during the northern winter! (BTW, sorry to hear about all the storms in the UK at the mo - hope you're not getting too wet ;-) ) Now then, just let me turn the air conditioning up... .

After we docked, it was a walk into town from the ferry terminal to find my hotel. After about 1 mile I found it - as well as realising just how heavy my pack is (gonna have to dump some stuff, methinks). Now, call it a hunch, but seeing a skip and builder's van outside your hotel is usually a bad sign - especially when a builder comes out and tells you the hotel is closed due to renovation. Anyway, they'd rebooked me into a nicer hotel - directions were "you know the ferry terminal - about 1 mile away? It's next to that...".

Today I've been wandering around the old fish market and looking around town, then tomorrow it's onto Stavanger on the train. Staying there for 2 nights, then onto Bergen for 4 nights. I'm quickly realising just how expensive things are here - a beer is about £5.50 and a pizza is about £13 (this also gives you an idea of my staple diet!) Having said that, I've had raw fish (herring?) for brekkie the last 2 days so that almost covers all the major food groups!

Unfortunately I'm on the hotel PC and there's no facility for uploading pics, so you'll have to wait for those - maybe Stavanger or Bergen.

It's been good getting those text messages and emails - keep them coming! Cheers all - and please, don't work too hard :-)

Advertisement



14th June 2006

Raw Fish...
Rather you then me!! Glad to hear your well and making head-way... will be great to the see the piccies !!
14th June 2006

Where is the sun!
You may be in the land of the midnight sun but could you please send some of the sun back here to the UK. All our sun has gone - it's 16C and cloudy!
14th June 2006

Fish
As I am meandering through the left overs from your departure I was wondering why you left all those tins of sardines behind, now I know, you must be surrounded by them in Norway.... All those roll mops, my favourite! Love Dad

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 29; qc: 129; dbt: 0.1413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb