Volunteering at Nordre Hestnes Gard


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Tromsø
July 24th 2014
Published: July 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Don’t know why, but all the places I volunteered at (see blog entry under “Lapland” also) during July expected strong European (I stress European, as nobody thought I’m Lithuanian) boy to arrive and help them with different tasks. And instead of this they got blond Lithuanian girl. However, I was sure I will prove that most of Lithuanian girls could carry tasks as good as any European man.



Anyway, not to make another feministic story, I will just start telling about my experience living and working in Nordre Hestnes Gard (organic farm) in Norvegian Arctic. Firstly it wasn’t arctic at all, as the temperature kept around 25 degree almost every day –perfect for days off to enjoy arctic water, hiking and other activities provided by the farm. However, not so good working outside 7 hours a day…





Place was huge, with loads off different things to work on – vegetables, animals, horses, forest etc. As for this amount of tasks we were also a big ‘family’ I could say – 8 of us volunteering and then Gry’s and Baard’s family with many children around. I guess because of the people around you and task sharing between working days were pleasant as the ones that we had off. Plus, family took a great care of us.







Just to keep it short and simple, stayed there for three weeks, spent really nice time, met wonderful people from all over the Europe, got a huge amount of experience in organic farming and will miss this place a lot. It’s definitely in my plans to go back there one day (during the winter period in order to see the northern lights) and stay for a longer time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb