Hey, I'm in Norway!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
August 6th 2010
Published: August 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

New Opera House, OsloNew Opera House, OsloNew Opera House, Oslo

A magnificent structure right on the water.
Now I have your attention I'd like to let you in on a little secret. I must confess it's Norway's public policy I admire most in the world; following an enormous injection of funds to service the health care, education, social security, aged care and infrastructure needs of the people. The Norwegian government made a momentous decision twenty five years ago to tax the profits on the extraction of the country's non renewable oil reserves at a rate to benefit all her citizens, who now enjoy the highest standard of living in the world. The offshore fund is managed by investing only in companies that demonstrate a commitment to ethical practices, and as the money resides overseas politicians can't tamper with the fund for base political purposes. Since the 1970's Norwegian governments have only used accrued interest to help finance spending commitments.

Therefore, as you can appreciate, constant reader, the fund continues to grow rapidly thereby guaranteeing the prosperity of future generations. It's not every country that is blessed with bountiful natural resources, but it's the way the Norwegians are taxing resource extraction, and subsequently investing the money that so impresses your humble blogger. Anyways, enough of that already as
Oslo architectureOslo architectureOslo architecture

In the heart of the city.
I'm veering towards political comment, and this little puppy just don't go there! I arrived in Oslo after a pleasant seven hour train ride from Stockholm. The train travelled through the Swedish countryside as we headed west to my final Scandinavian destination, and I was excited when the guard announced we had entered Norway.

Another hour on the train and we arrived on time at Oslo central station, from where it was only a few blocks to the excellent Senturm Pensonjat hostel where I'm ensconced for a five day visit. The staff are friendly and helpful, and there's a great atmosphere in general around the hostel. As you are probably curious, let me deal with the issue that everyone seems to be concerned about when considering a trip to Norway. For me, the international currency is beer, and has been for the last twenty years. That's how I get an immediate feel for what to expect of the prices when visiting a country, so I was glad I had the bar to prop me up when I ordered my first pint in Oslo! It's steep here, there's no two ways about it, but there are lots of cheap eat
Norwegian trollNorwegian trollNorwegian troll

This little fella seems friendly enough, except for his wicked sword!
options around though you won't necessarily be eating healthy. But if it comes to a choice between having a few expensive pints or none at all, that'll be one more pint thanks barman!

There's plenty to see and do while strolling around this compact and picturesque city. The main drag from central station is Karl Johans gate, and it's absolutely heaving day or night. The street heads straight up to the Royal Palace and gardens, which are definitely worth an explore. I also checked out the harbour and walked along the waterfront on a mild sunny day. Right by the harbour is the Akershus Castle & Fortress which is really cool. It costs nothing to get inside and stroll along the rampart walls, but you will have to fork out a bit to go inside the Castle. Finally, the Resistance museum which is situated within the confines of the Fortress commemorates the heroics of the Norwegian resistance against Nazi occupation between 1940 and 1945.

An entire block on Karl Johans gate leading up to the palace has been reserved exclusively for motorbike parking. As a long term motor bike fanatic this blew me away. I'm not sure if
Harbour sculptureHarbour sculptureHarbour sculpture

Close to the New Opera House.
it was a deliberate plan by the local council, but the effect on this famous stretch of road is positively electric at night. There's a two wheel celebration happening with hundreds of bikes parked along the block, and riders congregating in serious gear. There are also hundreds of tourists milling around who race in to photograph the horniest machines as they take off with a roar of the throttle. To top things off, I was walking back along the main strip when I saw an elderly gent with an elderly lady on his lap putting along on his grandpa transporter, both of them wearing ferrari jackets. This proves it's not what you do in life, it's how you do it that counts!

Although it barely rated a mention in the guide book, I stumbled across my favourite city attraction while randomly exploring the city on foot. The New Opera House in Oslo is an absolutely spectacular piece of architecture. The glorious white structure goes all the way down to the waterline, and people clamber up the slope until they are enjoying the views from the roof of the building. What a wonderful design it is, and a superb addition
Roof of the New Opera HouseRoof of the New Opera HouseRoof of the New Opera House

Crowds of people climb up to enjoy the wonderful views of the city.
to the Oslo skyline. The building may grow to become nearly as famous as the Sydney Opera house, designed by the legendary Danish architect Jan Utzon.

So as the first stage of my visit to Norway draws to a close I've enjoyed the calm and friendly manner of the locals in Oslo, the home of the annual Nobel peace prize award. In fact, after arriving at the train station I was crossing a busy intersection when a guy in front of me dropped something. I called to him a few times in English, as did a local in Norwegian but he just kept going. I had to run with my packs on to tap him on the shoulder, and then pointed back to his stuff. I was disappearing in the crowd twenty metres down Karl Johans Gate when I heard a booming "thank you" drift my way. Don't mention it brother cause it's all part of the mix in this wonderful travel destination. There's friendly locals about and plenty to see and do in the Norwegian capital. Actually it's got me to thinking, basically all of you should be here now!


He who wishes to understand me must know Norway. The magnificent but severe natural environment surrounding people up there in the north forces them to keep to their own. That is why they become introspective and serious, they brood and doubt - and they often lose faith. There, the long, dark winters come with their thick fogs enveloping the houses - oh, how they long for the sun!" Henrik Johan Ibsen



As I continue my travels, until next time it's signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.38s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 39; qc: 164; dbt: 0.1971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb