Wonderful day to be alive!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
October 15th 2005
Published: October 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Gustav Vigeland Sculpture ParkGustav Vigeland Sculpture ParkGustav Vigeland Sculpture Park

Me at the entrance to the park.
This morning I went to a bakery with one of the other American girls (Bobbi Jo). It was so lovely. Sitting outside in the crisp morning have a café latte with a pastry. Then we took a leisurely walk to a famous park here in Oslo with a bunch of naked statues. Everything was absolutely beautiful, the day, the weather, the leaves, the people, everything around me! We had wonderful conversation about being a missionary, our path in life, God, love and everything in between. I love those days when everything just seems to be in it’s perfect place and you are so filled with joy that you can’t help but smile! Aw, so wonderful!! After that we did a little shopping and then went our separate ways.

I went and bought a cup of coffee and went to a park by the harbor and sat on a bench for my PT (it was just too beautiful to be inside). As I was sitting here this is what I wrote in my journal:
“I feel so silly sometimes because I can just feel this huge smile on my face for no reason. I just have this joy inside me. I feel like I am really living! I don’t feel like I am going after something that could disappear tomorrow but something real and eternal. It is so wonderful to have such peace and excitement at the same time. It is amazing to feel so free from worry, stress and doubt, to be free to be myself (I am not sure when was the last time I felt this way for this amount of time - at least 3 years if not longer, maybe as a child). It is such a blessing to have such beauty around me, both visually and in those who surround me. To think I would’ve missed God’s gift of this experience if I had followed the next ‘logical’ step in my life and gone to a law firm. I am so thankful for those prayers and encouraging words from family and friends to help get me on that plane! I wish everyone could know, see, feel, and taste everything that I am, to just swim in the love of God. Wow!”

After my time outside I decided to go into some of the shops I hadn’t been into. I saw some gorgeous Marc Jacobs heels (purple with green ribbon - sounds strange but really cute)! And a bunch of other cute shoes I shouldn’t buy but it was fun window shopping.

Since the Eastern European countries don’t have much money we have decided to have a working week to raise the money for the concerts in those countries instead of just not going to those countries. One of the girls on my team, Karoline, invited me to go to her home town of Ålesund, to work there for the week and live at her parent’s house. I am so excited to see another part of Norway and help to make it possible for this ministry to share the gospel with Eastern Europe!

Tonight one of the girls (Erin) turned 25 so she had a party with salsa dancing at the café in the church. It was a fun excuse to dress up and help celebrate her birthday! Afterwards a few of us came back to the house and painted our toenails (that is not a very high priority here since it is usually cold - not sandal weather). Nice way to end a wonderful day!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

PTPT
PT

This was my view while I was having my PT.
At a cafe before the salsa partyAt a cafe before the salsa party
At a cafe before the salsa party

Me and Karoline (the one I am going home with for a week)
At a cafe before the salsa partyAt a cafe before the salsa party
At a cafe before the salsa party

Me and Karoline (the one I am going home with for a week)
At a cafe before the salsa partyAt a cafe before the salsa party
At a cafe before the salsa party

Me and Karoline (the one I am going home with for a week)
the birthday partythe birthday party
the birthday party

Learning to salsa
the birthday partythe birthday party
the birthday party

Learning to salsa
the birthday partythe birthday party
the birthday party

Erin & the salsa instuctor
the birthday partythe birthday party
the birthday party

Erin & the salsa instuctor
The Birthday PartyThe Birthday Party
The Birthday Party

Hafstien & Erin
Back at the houseBack at the house
Back at the house

Hafstien & Me
Back at the houseBack at the house
Back at the house

Gabby, John, Annette, Haflur
Back at the houseBack at the house
Back at the house

Karoline and Brandy


21st October 2005

recent news
I don't know how recent your blog is but I did want to say that I can totally identify with your feeling of overwhelming peace and joy. Don't you wish you could bottle the moment up and save it for when you know you will need it later.
30th October 2005

Vigeland park
Hi. I found your blog entry about your trip to Gustav Vigeland Sculpture Park. Sounds like you had a nice day and visit to the park. Very nice for you to be traveling :-) Did you take any other pictures there? There are two that I'm interested in, "Man, Woman, and Child" and the circle with the man and woman inside. Please let me know brad.32@lycos.com. Thank you. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb