Norway in Retrospect (and a little update...)


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
January 3rd 2008
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's been a LONG time, I am so very sorry. Let me start a month back when we visited Norway. Unfortunately Ryan and Kim couldn't come so it was Jase, Becky and I on the road again. We left early one day in November (details will be sketchy!) and caught the train to Glasgow. No hiccups, all went well and we arrived in Oslo airport. Thanks to Bree (Becky's sister) and a very special friend of hers we were being greeted at the airport by a tall, smiling girl by the name of Linn. Not knowing anything else about her, we sat in anticipation discussing the skinniness and tallness of girls walking by trying to work out if it was her. After some time, we heard an announcement for "Jason, Becky and Sarah" to come to the service area. Excited, we picked up our luggage and headed off to be greeted by the customer service assistance. Turns out Oslo has two (soon to be three) airports all named Oslo Airport. We were at one, Linn was at the other - two hours in another direction. Once working out our mistake, she organised for her Dad to come and pick us up. So we waited at the airport, feeling terrible for putting Linn and her father out. Her Dad arrived about half an hour later and drove us back to Linn's house - via a ferry. He refused to let us pay for anything and made us feel more than welcome. Linn had cooked us tea and was staying at her brother's house so we could have the whole house to ourselves. That night we went to her bar/restaurant that she co-owns and tasted the beer that they brew on site (see pics). The beer was amazing, the people lovely.
Think it was the next day that Linn drove us to Oslo to do the tourist-y things that we wanted to do (again, see pics). We visited the people park which was an amazing park with sculptures of people. We also went to see a famous ski jump used in the Olympics at some stage and is still in use for professional competition. That night we were invited to her parents house for dinner. We had an amazing spread on the table of biscuits, cheeses, cured meats, dips etc and sat grazing for about 2-3 hours. Her parents were delighted to have us, and the experience of sitting with Linn and her parents around the dinner table was the closest thing any of us have had to a family dinner for a long time. I'm sure I speak for all three of us when I say we felt very privileged to share in their company and get a taste of the Norwegian way of life. We were extremely well looked after and Linn and her parents went far beyond any expectations we had. Our experience was only enhanced by their presence and assistance and I hope one day we can return the favour.
It was a brief trip, we went back to the airport the next day... It was THE foggiest day and on arrival we were presented with news that our flight would not be departing... After queueing for hours we re-scheduled our flight for the next day and proceeded to make our way back to Moss where Linn lives. We met Linn back at her bar and her brother was back from a trip so we got to meet him as well. Next day we got out of Norway and back to Edinburgh.
Note: I wrote the above about a month ago and got distracted... will do my best to update you on proceedings. Plus I don't have my camera at the moment so pics will be added at a later date.
So back to Edinburgh... Went a little crazy working in bars and indulged in the nightlife a little too much. Sean arrived - fellow Ballaratarian - and was here for Christmas which was lovely. We had a full house and a massive christmas lunch which was amazing (thanks goes to Cara, our Ballaratarian chef!) and partied into the night. Christmas with no family/responsibilities, things got a little out of hand but we recovered in time for Renata's arrival. For those that don't know, Renata is my best friend from home and she has also moved over here now. I had to get up at 8 in the am after working til 3am so I was pretty tired but very excited to be seeing her again. So picked her up and after being friends for 8 years, it was like we'd never been apart... But back to sharing a room! Which may be challenging but I'm sure we will work it out. Upon Renata's arrival I was lucky enough to swing a week off work. We spent the first day catching up and I took her round Edinburgh to the places I work and indulged in cocktails and good food. New Year arrived and we got a brief visit from Maz and Luke - friends from Melb. We stayed at home drinking then went to watch the fireworks near the castle which was pretty cool. Then we headed to the pub and not long after decided we were no longer fit for the public eye and headed home. Next day -1st Jan 2008- we had organised a car and Jase, Becky, Ryan, Sean, Renata and I made a trip to Aviemore, where we hoped there was to be snow. We just went for a night but we had a good trip and hired some snowboards. First trip to the snow for me, I was pretty excited. I was sure it was my destiny to become a pro snowboarder, I was going to take to it like a duck to water. First problem - 50mile winds. I could barely stand on my feet let alone a snowboard. Second problem, it was FREEZING and I HATE the cold! They actually ended up closing the ski lifts due to the poor weather and visibility. I spend the day curled up in the back of the Torago with my uggies, jacket and sleeping bag. I hate the snow. I got my second taste of it today when it actually snowed in Edinburgh. Ryan, Jase, Renata and I headed up some mountain and had snow fights and tried to ride a plastic toboggan acquired on the road trip. Second experience of the snow was better - but still freezing. I don't think my dream of becoming a snowboarder is about to be realised any time soon!
Aside from that, things have been quiet and now its back to reality. I go back to work tomorrow which I'm not particularly looking forward to. I'm flat broke and upon checking my roster realised my work didn't appreciate my "Give me time off or I'm quitting" approach and my hours have been cut. After a week off I'm yet to work out how I'm going to get my finances back on track. Festive season + Holidays = Lots of money spent, no money made. Might see you all soon! The cold weather is somewhat depressing and I envy you all the 40degree heat you're getting. To feel a ray of sunshine on my bare skin is a distant memory and I would die to be sitting on the beach, or even just in Ballarat or Horsham. Excuse my home sick moment, I'm sure things are going to pick up.
Big hello to Aidy, Bree and Emma who I have finally added to this page. I tried the face book thing to keep in touch with you but it ruined my life in the first 24hours of setting it up. Love you and miss you all, will add pics for you soon. Enjoy the sunshine for me XO

Oh, and had my birthday on the 14th. Was just another night in hospitality really. Thankyou to the people that were thinking of me and those that send packages and cards. Was lovely to hear from you on a sentimental day that was spent far away.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb