He is faithful!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
September 14th 2005
Published: September 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I know all of my entries have been so up beat and for the most part, I do actually feel that way. Thankfully whether or not God is in my life does not depend on me and my feelings! Today was a hard day for me. I don’t even know why, I just woke up that way. I know as I get to know Jesus and as I let Him live through me I will have to change. I know I want to change but it is hard sometimes to let go of things, things we think are just “rights” that we should have. For instance, sometimes it is hard being one of the oldest here and having to take directions from people so much younger. I know it is silly but part of me resists that at times. Or sometimes I think that because of my education I should be doing something “better”. I sometimes think it would be so much easier not to be going through this. Obviously all of these are very selfish and show I really have way to go in my walk but God is working in me, revealing these things to me. It is hard to admit I even have these thoughts but that is the first thing you have to do in order to give them over and let that side of yourself die and follow and live with Jesus. I know I am doing the best and most important thing I could possible do - share the living Word of GOD, so others may know the amazing love of Jesus! So I come full circle finally remembering why I am here and glad that I am changing each day even though it doesn’t always “feel” good. I decided I needed just to get out by myself so during the dinner break I went to a coffee shop, had a little coffee and got an extra dose of God. I read about David. It means so much more when you realize these were real people. David as a young boy (or teen) actually fought Goliath and won. He did not even hesitate. He knew God had been faithful to him in the past and would continue to be.
David said to Saul, “Let no one lose heart on account of this Philistine; your servant will go and fight him.” 33 Saul replied, “You are not able to go out against this Philistine and fight him; you are only a boy, and he has been a fighting man from his youth.” 34 But David said to Saul, “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, 35 I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it and killed it. 36 Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, because he has defied the armies of the living God. 37 The LORD who delivered me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” (1 Sam 17:31-37)

It is so funny how that when we reach another difficulty in our lives we so easily forget how faithful God has been to us in the past and start freaking out because we are depending on ourselves to fight the next Goliath. We should be like David and know we can always count on God. God has been faithful in my life so many times and I will cling to that promise that He is the same yesterday, today and forever - so He will remain faithful in every situation! Though I was having trouble getting out of my “funk” and cried myself to sleep, I did so in prayer thanking God that He was with me and for the honor to be His child, and for giving me such an honor of sharing Him with the world!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb