Week 1


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
July 9th 2017
Published: July 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After returning from Singapore last Friday and 4 days of eating out, drinking and trying to get over the jet lag, Wednesday the 5th of July I joined the gym. The goal is to get back in to shape within 3 months and to check in on my flight to Bali fit and weighing less than 95kg.

Enrollment was easy and within 15 minutes I was sitting on the stationary bike to burn my first calories. A gentle 20 km run entertained by the music of Joe Cocker, made me burn 375 calories. After that some chest presses and shoulder presses and that was it for my first day. Full of good intentions I went home. Even made an appointment with a personal trainer for next Tuesday to get a new training schedule that will help me reach my goal.

In the evening I started to feel a bit drained (Jet lag? Did I over estimate my cycling abilities? Am I getting too old for this?) and I was developing a fever. By 7PM I had a full blown 40 + degree fever, and as it turned out was suffering from a bacterial infection in my face. Don't ask how I got it, but it appeared to be potentially life threatening and the GP prescribed an anti-bacterial ointment and heavy antibiotics. So much for a good start.

Only upside is that I lost 3kg 😊 in 2 days. as far as weight loss is concerned, I'm already ahead of schedule.

Plan for next week is to hit the gym at least 4 times and lose another 1.5 kg.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb