Day of Sightseeing


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
June 6th 2015
Published: July 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 52.3738, 4.89095

Today was much nicer out than yesterday. It was breezy and cool and perfect for wandering the city. I got up early as my first stop was the Anne Frank House Museum. Now, if you ever go to Amsterdam and want to visit this museum, you should definitely purchase your ticket ahead of time. This saves a lot of waiting in line. People can wait for 2+ hours to get in! And that is in all weather in lines that form outside with limited shade or shelter from rain. I arrived a little after 8:15 and was the first in the pre-purchased ticket line. It was a pretty chilly morning and I almost could have put on my gloves, but I did not. I enjoyed the fact that I had on jeans and they weren't sticking to my legs!

The Anne Frank Museum is really very well done. The tour is self-guided, with a small booklet explaining each room and then displays and videos to add to the book. I'm sure there are some who have not read Anne's diary, but if you have, the tour takes you through the entire building from the warehouse and offices to the secret annexe behind that famous bookcase. The only place you are not allowed to go is all the way up to the top where Anne would go to be able to see the tree out the roof window. Climbing the steep stairs and imagining 8 people living in these small rooms, having to remain silent during the day when the warehouse was open and not being able to go outside was difficult. I have read the book many times and was pleased to see the pictures Anne glued to her bedroom wall were still there, along with a
growth chart for her and her sister Margot. I could imagine what the furnishings would have looked like and almost hear the arguing of her and her roommate Fritz. The final room has Anne's real diaries on display. To see the actual books and her writing was wonderful. I am
glad these documents were saved and that her father decided to have them published. Anne said in her diary "I want to go on living even after my death" and so she has.

When I exited the museum, I could see the line was now wrapped around Westerkerk (or Western Church) and I was so glad I thought to buy my ticket ahead. Although I think it's great
people will wait in line for hours to visit a museum! It was just after 10 so I crossed the street to visit the nearby Tulip Museum. It wasn't very interesting but was included with my card so I didn't feel bad about going in and out.

Continuing on my way, I arrived in Dam Square, the large square in the middle of the city. It is not a large or as beautiful as Krakow's Market Square, but impressive in it's own right. The square is the location of the New Church and the Royal Palace. I went in the New Church and there was an extra charge as they had an exhibition. I could have skipped it as I did not want to view the pictures on exhibit, only the inside of the church. It is not used for mass anymore so there are no pews, only open floor.

After exiting the church, I noticed there would be a free walking tour of the city at 11. I decided this might be a good way to spend the afternoon. Got myself a delicious gaufre with Nutella for a snack first. If you remember from Paris, I love gaufres! I was now ready for a walking tour. Our group of about 25 was led by a guy named Jarno, who was pretty good. We spent a lot of time on the square having an introduction to the city and its history. Then we walked in a circle
from the square, past the Amsterdam Museum, through the Begijnhof (a quiet area where Catholic women lived or still live) and back around to the square. It was neat to see some of the quieter streets and to learn more about the city. Our tour did not go into the Red Light District so I don't think I will be going there unless I pay to go on one of the evening tours, which I don't think is likely.

On our tour, Jarno mentioned a place that has the best frites in town. So I headed back there when we were finished (the tour was 2 hours) and waited in the line. There were all kinds of sauces listed but I went the local way and got mayo on mine. The fries were piping hot and actually quite good with mayo on them! I'll have to see if the Belgium ones are better. I did see some of the herring carts, but I don't think I am quite up for eating raw herring so I just walked past.

My last stop of the afternoon was the Flower Market. This is a long stretch of street with stand after stand of tulip bulbs, other types of bulbs, souvenirs and, of course, cannabis starter kits. I enjoyed looking all all the different types of tulips and the different sizes of bulbs. Opposite
the flower stands were lots of shops. One was a Christmas shop and I found myself another nativity set (not as cheap as Krakow) in the Delft blue style. I also stopped in all the cheese shops and sampled lots of different kinds. One was a pesto gouda and one was a coconut cheese! I'm not sure I would like a whole block of coconut cheese but it was neat to taste it.

I headed back to the hotel to drop off my purchases and rest my feet. Then it was time to head back out to get dinner. I went back to the Flower Market area to the pancake place I
Former Squatter areaFormer Squatter areaFormer Squatter area

This was part of our walking tour. The guide said it is now illegal to be a squatter and only a few weeks ago the police were removing the last of the people while he was giving a tour. An interesting section of town that will soon be office space and apartments.
had walked past earlier called Cafe 't Singeltje. I had the small pancakes with fresh strawberries and whipped cream and they were delicious! I'm happy to say I ate the entire plate! I then headed up to the Central Station and the Visitor Center to ask about heading outside the city tomorrow. The guy said he had no clue as he had never left Amsterdam. Well that was a helpful information center. Anyway, I got back on the tram, stopped at a pharmacy to pick up some blister band-aids (I did more walking in Paris with the same shoes and never had a problem!) and then back to the hotel. I asked at the front desk about the options outside Amsterdam and again they couldn't really help but suggested a good place to go for a drink. Ok...

So, we'll see what tomorrow brings. Today I again walked 6 miles!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



7th June 2015

Someone who works at the information center should be someone who knows more about things that are not just in Amsterdam. And to never have left Amsterdam???? I guess I shouldn't be surprised...there are people here in town who never go d
owntown.
10th June 2015

Amsterdam is where I picked up the terrible habit of dipping my fries into mayonnaise. However, I also became such a connoisseur of properly cooked fries that I don't eat them here in the states unless it's a French or Belgian restaurant!
10th June 2015

Read the Diary, but didn't visit the house. The Hollywood version of the Diary is pretty good, too. 1959. Shot in Amsterdam. (Maybe I did visit the house - virtually.)

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb