Leaving home, and saying "goodbye" again.


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Schiedam
January 20th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Places I've been to, during my entire life (as far as I can remember)


Excitement/Guilt

The excitement I had to go to New Zealand had faded a little today, because I realized that I was leaving again, because of me. ME. That might sound strange, but try to see it from my perspective.

We had just moved back to the Netherlands the 13th of July. I had to say goodbye to all my friends, teachers and staff in Jakarta. I had lived in Indonesia for the previous 5 years, and although it took me a while, I had gotten very happy there. It felt like home, or at least more than the Netherlands.

So for a long time I had been angry with my parents for moving to Indonesia, because I was unhappy there. I thought that I never ever wanted to move again, and that I wouldn't d that to my kids either. So when I decided to leave to New Zealand, I felt as if I was in a way, being a hypocrite (spelleing?), and betraying my friends in the Netherlans (who had to endure a long time of sadness and unhappy stories when I was there).

Tired+Stress=Over-Sensitive= I easily cry

In januari I had stopped working, except for 2 or 3 days of babysitting. I wanted to take time to spend with friends and family, organize things for Indonesia and New Zealand (visa, permit, packing, etc).

But planning is defenitely not one of my strengths, so I ended up doing all my packing (and a little bit of laudry and handwashing) the day... no the night before I was going to leave. Keep in mind that we had to leave the house... hmm I think at 8 in the morning. I packed untill 4 in the morning! Haha... but at least it weighed less then 20 kg, and I have everything with me...except for some stuff that I figured I could buy later (shampoo, towels, conditioner, body lotion, nail polish remover, jewelry -took very little with me- i think thats it).

My friends Nelleke and Eef came with us to say goodbye at the Shiphol Airport, after we had also picked up Sonja (my sis) from her 17th B-day party in the Hague at a friends house. Car was suprisingly comfy, considering it countained my and Yolanda's (my mom) bags, me, yolanda, Maarten (my dad), Sonja, Eef, and Nelleke. I'm not talking about the 6 people though... my mom and I pack BIG, always, luckily Singapore airlines is pretty stricked, so we limited ourselves.

Goodbye Time

When we hugged family and friends and left to get our passports checked it was pretty sad. I didn't start weeping, but I could have... echt een brok in mijn keel... Nelleke looked about ready to let some waterfalls free... joking... (a little exagerated). Not feeling very happy at that moment, but I was glad that my close friends were there for support. I tried to just focus on the holiday I was going to have in Indonesia with my mom for 2.5 weeks, before I was actually going to travel on myself.

The flight was fine, as far as I can remember. Would have preferred bigger seats, since I had always flown from and to Indonesia-Netherlands Businiss class KLM. Singapore airlines has better technology though, the games, movies, tv, and new music cd's which you can play at any time, and can pause. Plus, economy class gets a lot of snacks too, I had an apple, chips, nuts, chocolate, sandwhich.. and the meals, which were quite good.

Arrival in Indonesia (21st Januari 2007)

After the long trip the unexistent standing ovation for our arrival was a little disappointing, but there were so many things to look forward to that it didn't matter. Spa, massage, shopping, undescribebly good food, cheap silver, movies, cheap dvd's, drivers, cheap taxi's, maybe bali, going out, and most important of all my friends.




http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_39d.html

Visited Countries Map


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0858s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb