Leiden and The Hague


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Leiden
September 5th 2019
Published: September 5th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today I took a side trip to the nearby cities of Leiden and The Hague. The first is a university town famous as the birthplace of Rembrandt and a place where the Pilgrims stayed for awhile before they sailed on the Mayflower to America. There are plaques in town honoring both, but I won’t waste you time by showing you photos of plaques. Leiden also has a number of good museums. The Boerhaave Museum specializes in the history of science, particularly medicine. There is a reconstruction of an anatomical theater that was once used for demonstrating dissections. There’s also a good section on water management, a very important discipline in this country that is largely below sea level. After lunch I caught the train to The Hague and visited two art museums. The first is devoted to M C Escher who I remember fondly from my dorm room days. I used to have a poster of the intersecting lizards. Next I visited the Mauritshuis Museum which has a fine collection of fine art, including Vermeer’s Girl With the Pearl Earring. I was about worn out after a busy day of sightseeing and a lot of walking, so I treated myself to dinner at a nice French restaurant where I enjoyed roast duck and a glass of Bordeaux.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb