Worst. Wedding. EVER.


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Keukenhof
April 22nd 2013
Published: May 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Curly TulipsCurly TulipsCurly Tulips

Noticed the jagged tips! God is AMAZING!
My wedding sucked. Not my marriage. I’m referring to my wedding party. I think mine is one of the worst ever. My dress wasn’t pretty. I didn’t even know what my hand bouquet looks like until the morning of the wedding. The décor was very plain. The venue management didn’t allow any music to be played (it’s complicated – but basically, no music at all). The 500 guests are mostly our parent’s colleagues (including my husband’s creepy uncle who for some reason gave me this sexy black see through lingerie with feathers – which I never wore). I didn’t even get to choose the menu or party favors (my mum overruled those). And the worst part is – I didn’t have any great wedding pictures. If you follow this blog; you would notice how I love (and can take) fabulous pictures. Gosh, looking back – I probably take better pictures now than that random dude my mum pulled to document our wedding. Why would I let my own wedding be such a mess? Well, that’s another long story. In short, let’s just say it was temporary insanity. And no, I wasn’t pregnant and it wasn’t an arranged marriage.

So you see, despite of my ~6 years of wedded bliss to my very best friend; at the back of my mind – I’m always longing for that “perfect” wedding. If I could do it all over again, it would definitely be an outdoor blue sky wedding in a park. The blessings would be under a giant tree – facing a lake. Ideally it would be conducted in the afternoon, so it can continue to the night with pretty candle lights & lanterns here and there. We would slow dance to a string quartet (or it can be harps or guitars or piano – but for sure it’s instrumental only. NO SINGER. Otherwise it will trigger the Simon Cowell in me). The red accented décor would be simple yet intentional. I would wear the prettiest dress suitable for me; with flowie tulle at the bottom. We’ll keep it as a small intimate gathering though – exclusive for our closest friends and family. It would be a truly magical day with fabulous pictures to remember it by. Oh and you bet I will ensure the pictures are fabulous. Because I’ll make sure we hire credible photography team that can take way better pictures than me.

Well, my “perfect” wedding is long gone in distant past now. But that explains my fascination towards parks – especially in a blue sky day like this. I’ve wanted to go to Keukenhof for a very long time. Due to our visa fiasco – we had to postpone it for over 4.5 years. But eventually, we’re here. For the first few minutes I was just in awe. The color bursts are amazing. The only color that doesn’t exist is pure blue (according to Wikipedia). The size is also gigantic. Some are bigger than my palm opened. Those they sell at the supermarket are the mini ones. I don’t know why though they would give some lame names to the tulips. There are “Victoria’s Secret” tulips, “Pokemon” tulips… OMG.

It’s still a bit too early though – many of the tulips were not at their peak yet. But the blue sky & breezy air kinda helps lighten the mood. It’s almost a perfect spring day. In case you want to see more tulips that’s hardly impacted by the weather outside, step in to the Willem Alexander glass house. There they planted many tulips to avoid tourist disappointment. If you
The Red Couple!The Red Couple!The Red Couple!

Well, this is what you get for marrying a girl who loves red :)
walk to the back of the garden and climb the windmill, you can also see the pretty tulip fields. Well, Japan’s Furano giant flower strips are nicer actually although it’s less famous. Don’t forget to take pictures with the touristy giant wooden shoes too! Can’t get more Holland than that.

Typically I would really cram so many things in my itinerary – but for today specifically, Keukenhof was pretty much the only agenda that we have. So we were in no rush. We took many breaks and sit at the benches; just enjoying the scenes. Had a simple picnic lunch facing the lake, surrounded by sea of tulips… We also tried to take some couple shots with tripod and remote – although the results weren’t exactly amazing; but I enjoyed it a lot. I guess the best part is – that you are with your loved one; who look at you with such affection and fascination; who can’t stop stealing hugs and kisses from you; who you can feel comfortable with and totally be yourself with. Yes I never got my dream wedding party. But I did marry a great guy who makes me feel so so so loved. The one who makes life feels worthwhile… And there under a giant tree, facing the lake, he hugged & kissed me – and we quietly renew our vows. He promised to love, hold and cherish me, until the day that I die and beyond. I promised him I will stay with him… until the next guy comes along ha ha… Yeah well, life isn’t fair.

Initially the plan was to roam the Keukenhof garden, then rent a bike to explore the fields outside. But since most of the fields weren’t in bloom yet and we don’t have a good map (plus we’re tired); we decided to spontaneously took the boat tour instead. Yup, for extra 6.5 euro per person – you can take boat tour which goes through the canals that divided some of the fields. The boat runs every 30 mins and it gets filled up quickly. Best seats would be at front – so you won’t get people’s head in your shots. When we queued for the boat tour – we met John, who’s already in his mid 70’s. He’s a US army veteran; who spent the past 5 years or so traveling the world. Her wife is back at the boat because she’s not feeling well. They have been married for over 50 years. After chit chat a while – he gave us tips for everlasting marriage: a) never go to bed angry, b) don’t stop giving nice surprise to each other.

I don’t typically like taking tours, but this boat tour is not that expensive. And some facts I learned are quite funny. For example, apparently the swans and all the farm animals at Keukenhof were only RENTED! The guide explained, Keukenhof is only opens for 3 months in a year – so to keep everything simple, they just… rent the animals ha ha… Make sense.

Towards 5 pm or so; we were tired. I wanted to stay longer, but we have appointment with our college friend F who ‘s living in Holland. Not really keen in paying 80 euro for the food (that’s already splitted bill); but I guess socializing has its cost. The night ended with stomach full of Thai food; trying to avoid red light district; checking out where the new king will be crowned; and running around to catch last tram back to hotel. I should mention that my husband saved us few times by ensuring we’re catching tram at the right direction ha ha… Now that I’m with my significant other; I suddenly re-loss my knowledge in reading maps that I’ve obtained in my solo trip to UK. His memorable moment happened that night. No apparently it wasn’t our informal vow renewal, or any pretty buildings we saw long the way. He somehow was just amazed with the tram maintenance work that was going that night; one guy will duck down to fix the rail, and the other would look out and give warning in case any tram is coming. He said it looked like something from a cartoon scene. Ha? Yah well, as long as he’s happy ha ha…

Coming back to the wedding theme; well, despite of everything that it lacks – that was still a precious milestone in my life. The party might ended in just several hours time, but it’s the relationship that last for years and sweet (legal) memories you’re creating in the journey afterwards. Hey, take a cue from a celebrity who got VERY lavish wedding, spent whopping 10 million USD with three wedding dress changes – and their marriage only lasted for 72 days. Big wedding parties don’t necessarily mean better marriages. Somehow I have a feeling that the guy I’m marrying now, will be the one who’s caring for me when I’m on my dying bed. And when I closed my eyes for the very last time – my life would flash before my eyes – and it would be filled by wonderful memories. Just like what we created today at Keukenhof.

To see more of my awesome pictures, click HERE

Advertisement



22nd May 2013

fun read :) sorry to hear about the wedding details that you weren't quite keen about though =P
22nd May 2013

I loved the details of your wedding -- especially the hilarious line about the lingerie -- and though it's unfortunate that you didn't get to decide more of what you wanted, I think your conclusion is great in that you've had 6 years of marital bliss that followed. Maybe you and your hubby can make your dream come true in a future anniversary -- you don't necessarily need all the guests to make it happen. ;) p.s. those curly tulips are gorgeous!
23rd May 2013

Thanks for sharing a great story
Always a silver lining. You've got the great guy and that is all that is important. Loved the humor.

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 31; qc: 139; dbt: 0.1378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb