Crossing Oceans


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland
September 30th 2017
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Schiphol 1Schiphol 1Schiphol 1

Tulips in Holland
Having arrived early morning in Amsterdam, I realize I no longer cross oceans with the same ease and grace I once did. Well, to be fair, I'm not sure there was ever much grace involved. Schiphol remains one of my favorite airports. It's huge! The shops are clean, it is well signed, the information desk staff are knowledgeable (and attractive) and it is always worth the walk to the main entrance. Fresh tulips are available and the train station to downtown stops at the main entrance. So now I pass the five plus hour layover by roaming around reminiscing of previous visits.

If travel be tiring, then why do it you ask. Despite the annoyances and weariness, there is a visceral thrill about going someplace new. Travel brings pleasure and happiness not found in other endeavors. There is something about mingling with other cultures that broadens the mind and stirs the creative nature. Travel makes me think, forces me to adapt; I feel alive. In short, travel brings happiness. When I get home, home will be the same, but my mind will have changed/grown; mental floss will have been applied. I read once "“The world is a book and those
Schiphol 2Schiphol 2Schiphol 2

More tulips in Holland
who do not travel read only one page.” I am truly fortunate that with my profession I have been able to roam about the world perhaps more than the average man. It's a blessing I do not take no notice of. I'm excited to learn how this page will read.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



6th October 2017

Hello
Carl I just got around to reading your blog and seeing the pictures. Beautiful sites and a very well written blog, you could do this for a living!!!! Glad you enjoyed your trip and that traveling make you happy.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb