The eels of Volendam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Volendam
August 23rd 2006
Published: September 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was a remarkably lazy morning. We didn't get going till about 2pm. Irene drove us to a little village called Volendam. Along the way there were lots of windmills and farmland. There were also old windmills that have been turned into houses. In the middle of a conversation Irene burst out laughing because she caught sight of cows running accross the field. It occured to me that I have never seen a cow run, in fact, I didn't not know they were capable of it. And it really did look hilarious! We passed by the airport and they have an overpass for the planes to go over the highway. It was so bizarre watching a plane taxi over a highway.
Volendam was really cute and just what we needed after such a large city. They are popular for their smoked eel. We tried some and it was really tasty. You just peel back the skin and enjoy! The whole harbour was lined with tourist shop after tourist shop so of course we shopped! I bought a cheese knife with a Delft handle and Angele bought a pretty Delft teacup. Delft is the blue and white painted ceramic that comes from the city of Delft in Holland.

Amie

Advertisement



24th September 2006

running cows, eh?
I got a good story that totally tops that. My dad and I went finishing a little while ago for the day and we drove past a cow pasture. However, they werent running. I guess it was mating season or something. Man did that look akward. I made my dad slow down so I could see it better. Cheers, Cathy

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb