Stroopwafels, Herring, & Grolsch


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 19th 2006
Published: August 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yeah, these are just a few of my favorite things.

I hope all are well. August is now too almost gone. You know my opinions about how time goes by.

Living here in Amsterdam has been a great experience. What an introspective time it has been for me. Much time for reverie and exploring this city on bike, usually till i'm lost and then found... once again.

The time to reflect back on where i have been and the things i have done and the people i have met this year has been some of the most enriching moments in my life.
I still feel soo fortunate...!

I love to people watch and seeing the world roll by as i sit in a park or on a street corner or in the middle of a square on the other side of the world is one of the blessings of life.

My last weekend here was very nice. It was fitting that i got to do two of my main hobbies when i am living in the states. Pulling/cranking/bouldering/climbing was wicked and there is where i met local climbers who pushed me pretty hard. It felt good to get back into that world again.
I played golf with Kasper today. One of his perks with his job(Invester with ING but is moving up at the start of the year) is being able to play free at a really nice golf course outside of Amsterdam. He played well and had a few good shots. He's a really good guy and a good friend to Bas.
I shot a 51 my second 9 holes which isn't good at all for me but since i haven't swung a club in a year, i was happy i guess. I did have a couple of pars. It was a great day though, sunny and 75 with a slight breeze.

Tonight, we all smashed a great dinner together. Bas and his girl Eva, myself, Caroline and Eelco, and Kasper.

Caroline is Bas's sister and is engaged to Eelco. They are really quality people. I wished i lived here so i could be friends with them. They are very good for each other. Eelco is one of the most genuine humans i have ever known. They just bought a house together here and will spend the rest of the year remodelling it. Much fun.

We all went to the local pub after dinner. I always like watching people interact. You can learn so much by just observing. Sometimes it's really nice just to be in the presence of old friends without conversating incessantly.

I hope for much happiness and good things for my friends until the next time i see them all. Someday...

I will miss Holland as i always do when i leave. This land, like I told Bas one time, is the exact opposite of the Plateau. In almost every way. I love that difference. That is why this country could easily be my second home.
I know Amsterdam very well now and will remember my time here with a happy heart.
Who, in their life, gets to live in Amsterdam for almost a month??? With complete freedom and no responsibility!


Tonight i walk the streets.
Tomorrow night i will be walking the streets of Edinburgh, Scotland.
Crazy how things work

My last leg of the journey. It makes me sad that my time is winding down.
More on that later

I fly out soon.

Talk to you again from the Lochs and Highlands of Scotland.


Love
Jonathan









Advertisement



Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb