top deck - part twelve - amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 12th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Amsterdam

Day 22

On the way to Amsterdam we stopped off at a cheese and clog factory. Obviously they showed us how they make their cheese and handmade clogs. Alex and bought some very yummy cheese which we made our way though when me got back to England.
Once in Amsterdam we checked into out last hostel and went on a walking tour of the city. We were taken through the main part of town through to the red light district where we were shown all the points of interest. We were then taken to a sex show which was well... different. The show was not as bad as you might think, a few cringe moments but also full of laughs and for some who were chosen for the audience participation part of the show it may have been a little close for comfort.

After the show some of us went for another walk through the streets to explore and sample some of the coffee shops goods. It wasn’t a very late night but an enjoyable one none the less...

Day 23

The following day there was an optional extra to do a bike ride around the town, it was raining when I woke up so Alex and I decided to have a sleep in and skip the ride as I haven’t ridden a bicycle since I was about 10 and had made it that far without serious injury. We made it out of bed around lunch time and decided to wander the streets and maybe do a little shopping. Let’s just say I could have gone mad with all the amazing shops, as I did fall head over heels for the most beautiful shoes, but Alex managed to talk the little devil on my shoulder out of buying them... they were Gucci after all. I did manage to buy a jumper and a dress though so I have to say it was a successful day. oh and i should mention that once aging Alex out shopped me! A new hat and two t-shirts...

The evening was to be our last together, we all met at a Chinese restaurant on one of the many canals. This was followed by a canal cruise which went for an hour and a half with unlimited beer, wine and soft drink... (Kind of reminded me of a little bar job I used to have, just I was on the other side of the bar.) We were then taken to a club where we all danced the night away.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb