I AMsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
April 15th 2008
Published: April 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

If Brugge's nickname as the "Venice of the North" is true it must be because of the charm of the cobblestone streets, the meandering quality of the waterways, and the unique little shops because Amsterdam has it beat by far as far as canals go. It is said to be 100 islands attached by bridges and marts. It was far more beautiful than I ever imagined. I stayed on a beautiful loop around the city that took me past bridge after bridge over canals filled with colorful pontoons, tugboats, and floating restaurants. It was all very charming. The route I chose took me out to the park next to the Van Gogh museum--called Vondelpark. I immediately saw lines of colorful attached homes as a backdrop to the famous "I AMsterdam" sign, the Netherland-ish equivalent of US' "Hollywood". Of course, I got a picture in one of the letters before moving on. On the way to the park I stopped in several shops as I needed respites from the continuous bouts of pouring rain. Before the shops, I enjoyed a bit of browsing in the New Market Square where I picked up a couple pieces of fresh fruit and gazed over the bridge striped canal along where hundreds of bikes sat peacefully too.

Since I had spent so much time in the shops I had to get going on my loop back to catch a late afternoon train out. I walked along the Prinsengracht Canal (the Prince's Canal) which I enjoyed so much because it reminded me of the magical harbors in Maine or the idealistic Mackinaw Island area. On the route I got to see, too, some historical churches, a palace, and the outside of Anne Frank's house. I turned around in front of her house and tried to imagine what she saw when she looked out her window. It is pretty now, but almost no sight could be seen the same given the conditions. It makes me count my blessings.

While Amsterdam has a reputation as kind of being a city of sin, my trip, which avoided certain streets and nightlife, was filled with charm and culture...it proves that Amsterdam has much to offer anyone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb