Jordaan and the Anne Frank House


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 31st 2019
Published: August 31st 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today was the only day of the trip where I had an early morning flight so I was at the airport by 6AM. I flew to Amsterdam, and it felt a little like a homecoming since I have been here a couple of times before (not counting the several times I’ve passed through the airport). I headed for the city center at Dam Square with the identifying obelisk and then I went for a walk around the Jordaan district west of there. It is very picturesque with many gabled houses and pretty canals. I had booked an entry time online for the Anne Frank house and visited there in the middle of the afternoon. The house itself is preserved, but the house next to it has been turned into a modern efficient visitor-friendly building. That is where one enters. The flow of people through the house every day is carefully regulated. The information is very well presented and I got a bit choked up several times over the course of the visit. (No photography is allowed inside the actual house.) Afterward I strolled around the Jordaan a bit more and enjoyed the scenic buildings and canals.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb