Netherlands


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Straight to the cheese stallStraight to the cheese stallStraight to the cheese stall

These markets were right at the door step of my friends.
After a long flight over... well two long flights over (one with 7 hours of no entertainment system) I Finally made it to Amsterdam. Was great to see a familiar face on the other side of the arrivals terminal, which was just as great to not have to find my way to into town and look for a hostel at 6am.

Given the long flight it was natural that I should have a snooze, so it was said we would sleep for a few hours until 1... so while in bed I woke up, had a look at my clock and it was only 11, so off I went into another deep sleep only to be woken up again not long after... at 3pm. Apparently when I looked at the time on my phone it was still in NZ time. This kind of concluded the first day in Amsterdam.

The next day we spent strolling around Amsterdam city like Japanese tourists taking photos of everything that looked remotely different to what we have at home (which was just about everything). Its good thing I have 8gb memory card.

Amsterdam is a really nice little city with quaint little buildings all lined up to the many canals that weave through the city. Buildings that are older than our country that slope to different sides and are too narrow to move in through the front door. Thus the need for a pulley system to furniture in through the windows etc.

And no, we didnt head straight for the red light district or to the coffee shops, we actually did touristy things (shock).


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb