Eindhoven, Netherlands for a day or so...


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Brabant » Eindhoven
September 9th 2008
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

After arriving in Eindhoven - I decided to check out this one horse town. I thought why not what’s the rush after all the to get to Amsterdam? I went to the tourist office and quickly asked for some suggestions where I could stay. They recommended Costa as one of the cheaper options. It wasn’t too far walking distance - which was perfect for me as I had so much crap with me - mental note stop accumulating stuff! Its so cumbersome to get around with!

Costa was about 10 minutes walk from the station - probably 5 minutes if you weren’t a slow slug like me.

Anyways Eindhoven is in the south of the Netherlands. About 1.5 hours away from Amsterdam Central by overland train. And tickets - full price are around 17e one way. So the following day the 09 of September, 2008 I got my bags ready for check out then I went to the Van Abbemuseum. Art lovers apparently herald this as one of the best museums of modern and contemporary art (or so it says in the Eindhoven city guide). Well it has interesting works there by Picasso, Chagall, Lissitzky and many more. The building is pretty interesting - kind of quirky. Then I went for an hour or so walk and ended up at the Historical Open Air Museum which I thought was quite worth it - I think its around 8e entry. Anyways it’s an actual museum where you can feel what life was like in the Middle Ages. You can try baking bread, forging iron and making coins (which unfortunately I got gipped out of as the people who were meant to be there for that - weren’t!) It was still good - I got to build stuff out of sticks - I built my own house (with an instruction sheet lol I think its meant to be for kids) and played all these cool rock throwing games. There is a medieval bar too. Apparently you can even stay the night with animal skins to keep you warm. After that I had a magnum and lazed in the park. I had some time to check out the city and the churches (and a book store someone recommended me though I don’t know what was the big deal in the big shopping centre). Then I got my train to Amsterdam at 5:30pm!



Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Eindhoven 08/09/08Eindhoven 08/09/08
Eindhoven 08/09/08

The van abbe museum.
Eindhoven 09/09/08Eindhoven 09/09/08
Eindhoven 09/09/08

At a church.
Eindhoven 09/09/08Eindhoven 09/09/08
Eindhoven 09/09/08

The stained glass windows in the church.
Van Abbe Museum 09/09/08Van Abbe Museum 09/09/08
Van Abbe Museum 09/09/08

Woman in green - Pablo Picasso.


25th May 2015

your blog about Holland
Dear Krunch, I have read your travelblog about your visit to Holland and it was very interesting! I am Dutch myself and for my Geography Masterthesis I am doing research among tourist bloggers from abroad. Your blog caught my eye because you visited some less famous places in Holland, like Arnhem and Eindhoven. It is so interesting to find out why a part of the tourists in Holland visit those less famous places next to the highlights like Amsterdam and its surroundings. That's why I am wondering if I could ask you some questions about your visit, to complement the info in your blog. It won't be a long survey, but more of a short interview-type conversation about your experience and opinion. You would help me a lot and I am also very curious to know about what you think about Holland and the reasons why you choose to visit it. I really hope to hear from you. The interview will be used in a completely anonymous and confidential way. Kind regards, Theo van Veenendaal tvanveenendaal1986@gmail.com
27th June 2015

Hi Theo
Glad you liked my blog. Sure let me know what questions you have if any. Look forward to chatting to you soon. Dasha

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb