Relaxing at Valkenberg Park (Stadspark Valkenberg), Breda, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Brabant » Breda
May 22nd 2017
Published: April 30th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Valkenburg ParkValkenburg ParkValkenburg Park

lake with fountain
I just love the Dutch many city parks so I spent much time at Valkenberg Park in my short stay in Breda. Valkenberg Park started long ago as "The Garden of the Castle", that was only open to the Castle residents and their guests. Now this wonderful park is open free to the public 24 hours per day.

Just outside the park is a large red building complex that caught my eye. Internet sites for Valkenberg Park include photos of this impressive building without naming the structure or its function.

Valkenburg Park is a natural wonder, as found in all the Dutch cities that I visited. This is a good place to unwind and enjoy nature including the nice trees and canals.

Outside the park is the Spanjaardsgat (Spanish Gate) that was built in 1610 AD. That gate (I think) was only the remains of a larger structure that was connected with the older Kasteel van Breda (Breda Castle).

I continued my walk in Breda and made a stop at El Greco for a Greek Gyro. I stopped at the Albert Heijn, the nation wide grocer of the Netherlands, to get some fresh fruits to carry back
Valkenburg ParkValkenburg ParkValkenburg Park

lake with fountain
to my hotel for later.

I returned to Valkenburg Park for a relaxing break before my next walk in Breda.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Valkenburg ParkValkenburg Park
Valkenburg Park

lake with fountain
Valkenburg ParkValkenburg Park
Valkenburg Park

nice trees
Valkenburg ParkValkenburg Park
Valkenburg Park

red bridge
Valkenburg ParkValkenburg Park
Valkenburg Park

Kassaumonument
Valkenberg ParkValkenberg Park
Valkenberg Park

Kassaumonument
Valkenberg ParkValkenberg Park
Valkenberg Park

Kassaumonument
Valkenburg ParkValkenburg Park
Valkenburg Park

Kassaumonument
Valkenburg ParkValkenburg Park
Valkenburg Park

big red building
SpanjaardsgatSpanjaardsgat
Spanjaardsgat

(Spanish Gate)
SpanjaardsgatSpanjaardsgat
Spanjaardsgat

(Spanish Gate)
El GrecoEl Greco
El Greco

Greek gyros


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb