Grote Kerk, Breda, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Brabant » Breda
May 22nd 2017
Published: April 18th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Arriving at Breda Centraal I took a taxi to my hotel Shadshotel De Kloc, conveniently located on the downtown Grote Markt. With only two days here in Breda it was time for me to get walking to see this beautiful old city.

Right there on the market square was the Grote Kerk or Onze Lieve Vrouwekerk (Church of Our Lady); a good place for me to start my tour of this beautiful city. The inside of this fine old church was beautiful with its stained glass windows and a large pipe organ. (I would love to be inside the church when its pipe organ was playing.) Other attractions include artifacts, high colourful ceilings, smaller chapels, and floor markers (graves) for famous people in history that are interned there.

The outside of the church was impressive with its large 97 meter high tower (about 318 feet). This tower was an asset to me cuz I have problem following the Dutch streets written in their language that I could not understand. From anywhere in Breda where my walking tour ended, I simply could see the tower and find my way back to my hotel.

The Grote Kerk construction lasted between 1410 AD through 1547 AD, with many costly renovations to come.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Grote KerkGrote Kerk
Grote Kerk

ceiling
Grote KerkGrote Kerk
Grote Kerk

painting
Grote KerkGrote Kerk
Grote Kerk

floor marker
Grote KerkGrote Kerk
Grote Kerk

floor marker
Grote KerkGrote Kerk
Grote Kerk

artifacts
Grote KerkGrote Kerk
Grote Kerk

pipe organ
Grote KerkGrote Kerk
Grote Kerk

pipe organ
Grote KerkGrote Kerk
Grote Kerk

pipe organ


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb