Ready to Go


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Gelderland » Wageningen
April 25th 2010
Published: April 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

I finally decided to make a blog to keep you posted on my latest adventures 😊

Ok so here I am still in the Netherlands.. Feeling I should start a pharmacy, on the table next to me there is an incredible amount of pills (Djoeke and Steef thnx for the Malarone, without you I would've been bankrupt already), powders, and other stuff. I think it'll occupy as much space as my clothes.. insane.
But apparently Kenya is a dangerous place, and you should make sure you had at least a dozen vaccinations plus a whole box of pills before you even think of jumping on that plane. So that's taken care of, I'm Ready to Go!

What's the plan?
Next tuesday I will fly to Nairobi together with Gabriel. He's from Uganda and studying in Wageningen as well. The fact that he's travelling with me makes everything a whole lot easier, so my stress level is set at zero. I mean, he's African, black (the most important thing!) and has been to Nairobi before, so everything should be just fine..
We will probably stay in Nairobi for a day to get a phone card, buy internet acces etc. before we will travel to Kibwezi. This is a small village located between Nairobi and Mombasa, and is gonna be my home for the next two months.

For the ones interested; our intersnhip is part of a study about vitamin A deficiency, its some kind of pilot for an intervention which is gonna start next year. We will visit about 15 schools, from which we will select 20 children each. From these kids we will take blood samples, part of the blood analysis will then be done on location, the other part back in Wageningen. Next to this we will do some eye measurments, and we will carry out a small cassava feeding study. Should be enough to keep us busy for two months!

For now that's all I know. Hope you'll enjoy my stories!

Annemarie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb