whirlwind


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Gelderland » Nijmegen
February 18th 2012
Published: February 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

the last 2 days have just rushed by, and tonight I go to amsterdam and then tomorrow I'm in deboik for karnaval!!

I cannot say how much the people here are very very friendly, they are very welcoming and nice



Sometimes I catch myself speaking with a Dutch accent?? I took a customer out today for dinner we had at Humprhy's it was very good, I have now learned a lot about Dutch culture regarding the political system and whatnot.



I very much like Nijmegen, and so far my impression of Holland is very good. I met some other international students last night will hook up with them later. It is not normal to tip in holland and when you do they make kind of a big deal about it, but I hate carrying the change, but what is nice is all of the prices already include the taxes and much of the prices are very even like 2.50E or 3E flat, which makes getting change easier. It does suck that 1E and 2E are both coins, and although they are bigger and easier to tell apart when you have them in light they are very hard in a bar!

Also you never realize how bad the timezone difference is of 6 hours until I got here. Obviously I understood that when I woke up at 8am it was 2pm in Holland. What you don't realize is that when it's noon in Nederlands it's still only 6am so nobody will be awake for another 2 hours! It makes coordinating with the US very difficult, and it also means that when I get back to my hotel every night after being tired from working on the machine, I end up working another 4 hours just to catch up on items I have emails about or to follow-up with people in the US. Everyday I work, come home, shower, eat, work more, nap nap nap, eat, drink, come back home and sleep. wash rinse repea~

I must go shopping today for clothes becau

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb