Three Months in Europe - December


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Gelderland » Arnhem
December 30th 2009
Published: December 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys.

I know I know, where have I been? I've been busy with Mirjam. I eventually decided that I would break my stay in Europe down into a monthly summary every month. I have so much to tell you so let's get started.

First off I'd like to say how happy I am to be back here in Arnhem, not to mention back with Mirjam. Although I feel slightly ashamed of myself, skipping winter and all that. Don't get me wrong, it snows here and it gets cold.. but in comparison to Northern Michigan, it feels very much like a vacation. Everyone here freaks out over 2 inches of snow... Not 2 inches of snow in a couple hours, I mean 2 inches PERIOD, as in TOTAL. Apparently the dutch aren't used to getting a lot of snow, Mirjam tells me it's been 28 years since they last had a White Christmas. So Mirjam and her family are accusing me of bringing the snow to them, since they got one this year.

I was surprised to learn that Mirjam passed her driving exam the day before I arrived, and soon got her license from the government. Only a couple weeks ago she managed to purchase a small car for 1400 Euros. I was surprised at how nice a car it was for the price she was paying, not to mention safe. Different laws and regulations here ensure safe and cheap cars for new drivers. Every year each car has to be tested and checked out by the government in order to be able to be driven, it's called an APK. This ensures that cars are always safe to drive and in perfect working order. Back home you're lucky to get a pile of scrap metal for that much money, much less a safe and reliable car.

We had a quiet Christmas together at home, just like we both wanted. Just me and her and the cats, and the snow outside. It was our first Christmas together, and I'm very happy with how it went. I don't like to make a big fuss about the holidays and I was glad that all we did was lazy about all day in the house.

However the last few days following Christmas we've been driving across the country to visit her family. We went to visit her Grandparents and we had a feast with them. Then we went to her Dad's house and we had a feast there. THEN we went to her Mom's house and had a feast there. All throughout the endless family feasts I met most of her relatives. She has a very nice family and I feel like I fit in nicely with them.

I apologize for the lack of pictures. I may have run out of pictures to give for now. I've just not felt like taking snapshots of stuff I've already seen a bunch of times. I've gotten quite used to Arnhem and the surrounding towns and villages. In the future I'll try and snap some pictures here and there. In a couple days Mirjam said she would take me to one of the old Palaces nearby, so I might have some pictures then.

I've been giving my New Years resolution a bit of thought, and I've come to the conclusion that all I want to accomplish is moving here and staying with Mirjam. Sometime next year, if finances allows, and if the time is right. I will propose to Mirjam. It's been two years, and I've made up my mind. I love her, and want to spend the rest of my life with her. Every day I wake up here, the first thing I see is her, and it's always been the happiest part of my day.

Enough of the emotional stuff for now. This is, in a nutshell, what's happened this December here in Europe. I'll see if I can get some pics of that Palace I'll be visiting soon. Either way, I'll catch you all next year!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb