Nederland: back to my roots


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Friesland » Sexbierum
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well it's been a while since my last update. I'm well aware of that.

I've been in the Netherlands for about two and a half weeks and it's all been a bit of a family affair - obviously a big change from my previous expeditions, but it's all good. I'm not actually in Sexbierum (as above), but I just wanted to point out that it's a great great name for a town and if I was a town, I'd be pretty happy with such a name. Also, it's not too far from my current location.

Well anyway, it's been pretty good catching up with with the (entire) family and the main part of the visit to nl was my grandparent's 60th wedding anniversary, which took place the other week.

Otherwise it's been cycling, boating, sight-seeing and other sorts of activity-related activities. I've visited plenty of towns and cities in the area. We were staying in Grou, a town on a lake. Now we're on Vlieland (an island of the northwest coast) and next week I head back to the mainland and am going to ruin the Leeuwarden half marathon. I'm pretty out of shape as my training in southeast Asia was zilch, zero and naught. But I'm going to give it a shot as I've received plenty of pressure from my sister's partner who's in much better shape than me- so see how we go. I'll then slowly make my way south (probably by bike and some trains) to Utrecht, Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Brussels, Pyonyang, Paris and yip you guessed it, Barcelona.

Also, my camera decided to call it quits for a while. Hopefully it'll be back in order soon and I'll present a snap ot two of my other country.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Aquadukt: boat, car, train Aquadukt: boat, car, train
Aquadukt: boat, car, train

How to avoid building a bridge
Jerk townsJerk towns
Jerk towns

which jerk to visit?


4th June 2007

A big hello from NCRE
Sounds like you're being spoilt with all that family loving! Remember to say hi to my uncle Jong-il when you get to Pyongyang and I hope you do well in that marathon gig. Don't ruin it :) Oh, and I might get to Spain by October- so see ya there and then!
4th June 2007

Kees who??
6th June 2007

Pictures in the nude
I wonder if you have posed naked on the Amsterdam canal while you where there and that's the reason why you won't send us picture of your activities in the Netherlands...
6th June 2007

camera technician
Hey hey kbk, I'm glad the adventure is going well. I hope you make it to Sexbierum, and get a photo with some Swedish colonist types in front of its sign for effect. What's in Barcelona? Apart from Basque sepratists that is...
6th June 2007

Barcelona
thanks for the comment young MP but sort that Basque country geography out could you? cheers
7th June 2007

Rebel
Mate the ceasefire's over and we're *ahem* they're everywhere! Yeah truth be told I couldn't pick Basque country - there's no bloody difference between them and the rest of Spain as far as I can tell. It's like the West Coast declearing independance - not exactly worth killing over. Anyway champ get some more photos up, have been enjoying them :) In other news I am making it out of NZ for first time in 12 years in Aug (although going to oz doesn't really count...), it's a start!
11th June 2007

Farm
I believe young Pilott was referring to the anarchists who briefly ruled (if that's the right word) Barcelona during the civil war. Don't ruin the half-marathon for everyone else. Also, what's the cycling like in Dutchy-land? Have you done any decent day trips or just gliding around?
11th June 2007

Farm
The latter. However I do plan to bike from Amsterdam to Brussels (mainly along the coast). Cycling's pretty good, there are cycle paths everywhere and distances aren't huge- basically every 5-10ks you come accross another town or village. Got to watch those mountains though, it can all get really steep at some parts and avalanches are common. I recommend a guide.
11th June 2007

Rebel.
True: Basque, Spanish, Catalonian, Aranese, Galician, it's all one big happy melting pot.
17th June 2007

Identity
As I recall the locals seemed to be pretty keen on their Basque identity, anyone heard of Donostia? The street signs are written in Euskera for example....
19th June 2007

Kees - seeing as your camera is broken your readers may want to check out a picture of you enjoying a boat trip in Friesland by going to - picasaweb.google.com/stephenday19/Netherlands2007/photo#5071322529150793746

Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0776s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb