Day 24 - Montenegro - Bosnia - Croatia


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro
June 26th 2013
Published: June 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

View of the campsite from my tentView of the campsite from my tentView of the campsite from my tent

What view to wake up to in the morning
Wed 26th June 2013
Day 24 - Montenegro - Bosnia - Croatia

Woke up to the most beautiful scenery with the blue river, high mountains, and a nearby orchard growing cherries and plums.

Today was one of those busy days when a lot of driving will be done. After breakfast at the camp, I quickly set the SatNav for my next destination which is Porgoric, the capital city of Montenegro. The camp owner will not let me leave until I wrote a message or commented on the campsite. I think he asked me to write something in "Kineski", which I interpreted to be to write a message i Chinese in his guest book. So, I complied and wrote a few words in Chinese to which he was very happy. I guess, he does not receive Chinese guests on a regular basis.

Porgoric was a relatively new town with vey few old buildings that I can see. Parked the car in the car park and walked towards one of the cafe for lunch. Had a salad and some coffee, before heading towards my next destination which is Dubrovnic in Croatia.

Drove for miles and miles before reaching the
View of the campsite from my tentView of the campsite from my tentView of the campsite from my tent

View of the campsite from my tent
border crossing between Montenegro and Bosnia. The border guards at Bosnia had a laugh at my car when they saw me pulling a string to cut off the engine. One of the 'Policja' asked me "How old is your car?", I promptly replied "30 years old". They had their laughs and let me through Bosnia. Further down the road, another Policja checked my passport once again. Then I finally reached the Bosnian Croatian border crossing, this time everything was smooth. The Policja at the Croatian side was particularly friendly and welcoming.

Less than an hour later, I was in the coastal sea port town of Dubrovnic. Dubrovnic was really beautiful, it was just like the postcards I have seen of Dubrovnic many years ago. It was just before 6pm when I arrived, so I had time to drive to the 'Grad' which is the old part of the city. I decided to do more sightseeing tomorrow. I looked for a campsite and eventually found one 5 miles away called 'Auto Kamp'.

I quickly put up the tent on the roof rack and made some tomato soup with bread for dinner.

Tired but happy to be in Dubrovnic.
2View of the campsite from my tent30626_0652532View of the campsite from my tent30626_0652532View of the campsite from my tent30626_065253

View of the campsite from my tent


This part of my trip is dedicated to my friend Tomislav. He was from this part of the world and I remember we talked about making this trip together many years ago in his home in Shepards Bush. Today Tomislav is living in America, so he was unable to join me, but I am happy that I have made an effort to complete the trip and to be able to see this beautiful land my friend comes friend comes from.

"Thank you Tomo for inspiring me to see your country and to learn about your background and culture".


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Camp commandant and meCamp commandant and me
Camp commandant and me

I forgot to shake his hand to pose for the picture - just like the painting in the background.
CampCamp
Camp

Camp
More blue riverMore blue river
More blue river

More blue river
On top of the worldOn top of the world
On top of the world

On top of the world
G wagon - on top of the worldG wagon - on top of the world
G wagon - on top of the world

G wagon - on top of the world
Blue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital PodgoricaBlue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital Podgorica
Blue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital Podgorica

Blue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital Podgorica
Blue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital PodgoricaBlue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital Podgorica
Blue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital Podgorica

Blue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital Podgorica
Blue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital PodgoricaBlue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital Podgorica
Blue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital Podgorica

Blue lake just outside the Montenegrian capital Podgorica


3rd July 2013


i hope u r having a good time and learning new cultures and survival tecniques.So far only seen one reported incidence of axil nut lost not bad. No more miss haps now. We will continue to follow u on the blog .All the best

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb