Montenegro - Bay of Kotor


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro » Kotor » Kotor
June 17th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The bay of Kotor bay is considered one of the most beautiful bays in Europe, and features the UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Perast and Kotor, as well as other typically Mediterranean towns.

After settling in to my hostel I decided to climb the battlements that ascended the mountain behind Kotor, once you get to the top you get a great view of the fjord and are able to see all the luxury yachts that visit this part of the world. Further up the coast there’s a marina where many Russians holiday in summer.

Kotor old town is very much like a much smaller Dubrovnik without the crowds, you could probably see this place in a day but I was hoping to go white water rafting on the Tara river so I extended my stay to fit this in.

I met some new chums that day so the 4 of us went out for something to eat in the courtyard overlooking one of the old churches. The nightlife in Kotor is interesting, during the week its very sleepy but come the weekend its party time and all the bars are rammed playing dodgy music at full blast. In one bar we were treated to a local singing a Madonna track in Serbian!! But the bars have to close at 01:00 which is when everybody decamps to the one and only nightclub.

The next day we all went to the beach for a swim, but I spent most of the time trying to find some shade so I didn’t burn my pale English skin:-)

Unfortunately there wasn’t enough interest in the rafting trip so I spent the second day in Herceg Novi which is yet another quaint old town, but by this time I was having my fill of them and was waiting for my bus back to Croatia and Split.

Boring bits

There is only one hostel in Kotor and this is conveniently place in the old town, its called Montenegro hostel. It organises various tours throughout the country – don’t pay in advance though as if you change your booking they won’t return your money.

The buses area bit of a nightmare, I’ve copied this from the hostel website:

http://www.montenegrohostel.com/en/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=99&Itemid=117

KOTOR-DUBROVNIK: 8.30 h an evan day
KOTOR-DUBROVNIK: 7.10 h every Monday, Wednesday and Saturday
KOTOR-DUBROVNIK: 14.45h every day
KOTOR-SPLIT: 7.10 h (Monday, Wednesday, Saturday) , 17.00 (Friday) (duration 6 hours)



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0963s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb