Back to the coast; Kotor, Montenegro


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro » Kotor » Kotor
August 27th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It took about 4 buses but I eventually got to Kotor, a beautiful port town, that is a preserved museum town. It is a walled city, that as soon as you walk in you feel like you have been taken back a couple of hundred years. Of course the hundreds of extremely wealthy Russian and Serbian tourists soon ruin that dream.

I stayed in a hostel within the town, and spent most of my time walking around enjoying the stunning surroundings with other travellers. It is a really lovely place, but was slightly ruined by all the tourists. Unlike Albanian I didn't get to talk to any 'real' people. I made friends with the guys who worked at the hostel but that was is it. Every other local was working in the town, and apparently there is a national consensus not to smile, talk to or show any possibility of friendliness to tourists. Well I'm sure I just didn't have the best experience, but it was a shock coming from Albania to this unsmiling country. Luckily the guys at the hostel were really nice, and I met some Aussies to hang out with.

There are some really fancy restaurants, and I treated myself to a fabulous meal of calamari in lovely restaurant in a pretty courtyard.

Otherwise the highlight of the visit was a trek up the hundreds of steps to the top of the fort wall, and the view at the top.

I was there for a couple of days before heading off to Sarajevo, as I couldn't take the crowds of tourists, and subsequent high prices.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb