Cruising Comino


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta » Comino
April 23rd 2005
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

The boat trip was amazing--I have the sunburn to prove it.

We left Marsalforn around 10am and were driven to Mgarr Harbour where we boarded the Midas II. There were about nine people on the boat, plus the captain, his 'first mate' and the 'first mate's' girlfriend (It was like the scene from "A Room With A View" when the Italian driver brings his lover along for the tour).

The boat went over to the north side of Comino, where we stopped for a walk near the Comino Police Station, a 500 year old church, and an equally old tree. I'm not sure what is more amusing about the Police Station--the fact that it is pink or the fact that Comino, which is probably not much bigger than the island the Calgary zoo is on, has it's own police station. Although apparently they are pretty busy in the summer when all the tourists invade.

After the walk, it was back on the boat to continue the tour around Comino--we went to the Comino window, the Comino Caves, Crystal Lagoon, and the famous Blue Lagoon.

I didn't know what all the fuss about the Blue Lagoon was until I saw it--it is one of the most beautiful places I've seen in my life--clear turquoise water that just begs to be swum in. I didn't swim though--I was about to despite the 'cold,' but then some jellyfish and a baracuda were spotted from the boat.

We had lunch at the Blue Lagoon, and were stopped there for about an hour, before we left Comino and headed back towards Gozo. Before going back to the harbour though, we got an up-close view of the Ta Cenc (pronounced ta chench) Cliffs, the highest cliffs on Gozo.

The trip ended with a race into Mgarr Harbour, to get to the marina before the car ferry to Malta left and the next one came in. We were driven back to Marsalforn, and by the time I walked back up the hill to my hotel, I was exhausted. I snacked on the local wine, cheese, bread and fruit that I bought the other day, and then relaxed in my room until it was bed time.

It was a fantastic day, and the boat trip was well worth the 10 Maltese Lira.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb