Coffee


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Macedonia's flag
Europe » Macedonia » Skopje
June 18th 2011
Saved: January 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Whew! What a week! I have not been able to post here considering we have not been home most of the week. But onto the subject I have chosen... coffee.
Before I arrived in Skopje, I was not much of a coffee drinker. In fact, I avoided it at all costs because it keeps me from sleeping if I drink it after noon. I think that has since changed. My first experience with Macedonian coffee was with the staple, Turkish coffee. One evening this week after, Wednesday I think, I joined Sashka's parents in drinking the daily after-dinner coffee. This stuff makes Starbucks coffee taste like darkened water. It is strong. Making it requires that one boil very fine coffee grounds with water and then serve it-- without any straining. I took mine with sugar, and even then it tasted exotic. This coffee is not for the weak of heart, and unfortunately I belong to that category, considering it kept me up the entire night (an unexpected blessing-- as I was lying wide awake in bed at 4:45 in the morning, the stillness of dawn was broken by the sound of the Muslim call to prayer echoing into the bedroom. Incredible.). It certainly did the job for which I chose to drink it on Thursday; we went to the disco that night, which does not open until midnight, and I was able to be fully alert until 4 am. Another coffee drink I tried was Nescafe, where a stronger form of instant coffee is blended with water and sugar into a froth and then poured into icy milk, an ideal accompaniment to the sort of hot weather one encounters here.
I thought that trying the coffee here would be a simple sign of my pledge of fidelity to open-mindedness, but I had it the next day. And today. I think I might have to proclaim myself a coffee drinker. Who would have thought? When I return to the U.S. and taste the coffee there, I might even graduate to the next level of coffee drinker: coffee snob.

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

20th June 2011

Beautiful Image
I can see you lying in bed listening to the new sounds around you. Beautiful image. Coffee? Yeah, not for me but you get down with your bad self. Have fun!!!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb