FYROM or Macedonia


Advertisement
Macedonia's flag
Europe » Macedonia » Ohrid » Ohrid
April 13th 2006
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

OhridOhridOhrid

Lake Ohrid
Leaving Albania turned out to be more difficult than expected. The bus to Macedonia which I had asked about on Saturday and was supposed to leave at nine in the morning on Monday didn't... So I looked on the map of Albania and took the first minibus I could find to the town closest to the border. And than I tried to get another ride to the border itself but the directions to where the bus was supposed to depart from turned out to be directions on how to walk to the border so I ended up walking out of town through the fields towards Macedonia. I stopped at a house and asked directions and they hailed a car which brought me to the border. Once in Macedonia things went a lot smoother. There was a bus waiting at the border which brought me to Ohrid where I stayed for two nights. Ohrid is a very nice town on Ohrid Lake, it has a fortress, some nice old churches and a town wall. Unfortunately it started raining the next day... That didn't stop me from making a day trip to Heraclea though... Heraclea is an old ruin from the time of
OhridOhridOhrid

Church of Sveti Jovan Bogoslov Kaneo
Alexander the Great, but there was not much to see... I did meet this old guy though who said he could speak German, but when I asked him some questions in German his answers were invariably, tut mir leit (I’m sorry) and vielen dank (thank you)... 'How old are you? Tut mir leit, vielen dank... What's your name? Tut mir leit, vielen dank...' Well as the conversation was going nowhere I decided to leave it at that... I shall forever remember him though as the 'tut mir leit' guy...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BitolaBitola
Bitola

Greaco-Roman ruins of Heraclea outside Bitola
BitolaBitola
Bitola

Roman mosaics at Heraclea


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb