Passing on the Faith - Joe Voigt


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
August 10th 2011
Published: August 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

People often ask me what my background is and I always answer that I am a mutt. This is very true since my relatives come from all over Europe and North America. The once thing that links all my backgrounds together is the Catholic Faith. One relative whose faith is still strong with me today is my Great-Great-Great Grandfather Henry Birren. Henry was born in Steinsel, Luxembourg; a small village just north of Luxembourg City, on August 10, 1812. Henry would later marry, emigrate to the US, settle and raise is ten children in Chicago. Henry was very involved in St. Michael Parish in the old town area of Chicago. In fact, a cross that he craved still adorns the steeple of the church. Having the opportunity to visit his home country and the small village he was born in was a joy. Even though I had never been there before, Luxembourg seemed like home. As I strolled through the city streets and visited the village's parish I could feel the faith that Henry passed down through his children to me grow stronger. Happy 199th birthday great-great-great grandpa Birren. Thank you for this wonderful gift that you have given me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb