Easter in Luxembourg City


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
April 16th 2006
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

So after exhausting myself on the sites of Brussels I decided to spend my Easter Sunday in Luxembourg City, as a day trip from Belgium. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize that Lux was three hours away by train. So that means I was on the train to and from for six hours. I only had three hours to actually explore the city. But that turned out to be sufficient.

I walked down from the train station into the old center area and crossed the ravine that divides the city. It was reminiscent of Bern actually, except different. I visited the Cathedral, lit a candle and said a prayer. Sorry Dad! I then wandered up through the town and found the social heart of the city on the Place des Armes. There was a band shell and the Young Ambassadors British Brass Band was playing so I listened to them for awhile, just because it seemed the thing to do.

After I tore myself away at the end of the overture to the Magic Flute I headed down to the casements, the ancient fortifications and tunnels along the cliffs at the end of the ravine. I just kind of walked along the edge of town until I ended up back someplace I recognized. I went back to the Place des Armes and heard something from Riverdance I think while I got cookies for my train ride back to Brussels.

Luxembourg City, the old section, is definitely someplace that I would live. I’m collecting future residences as I go, and Lux definitely had its highlights. There were some really cute streets and houses, but there was also a Chi-Chi’s on the Place des Armes and a McD’s too, so that knocks off some points. The countryside between Lux and Beligum is very green and wet. There seemed to be moss everywhere. And they really like to manage their forests. I mean there were trees, but they were culled periodically. And there would be stands of new trees next to older trees and so on. So you couldn’t look out the window and pretend that the forest to your left was untouched by man, because you could tell that it had been.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb