Luxembourg?


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
August 24th 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ahh Luxembourg. A tiny little country sitting between Germany, Belgium and France. Until 2005, I didn’t even know it existed!

Chris has been to Luxembourg for work loads of times and for awhile there, it looked like there was a chance Luxembourg was going to be home for us instead of London. Thank god for that change of plans! Not that Luxembourg is a bad place, not at all! Just not really a place I could see either of us living.


During our short visit we managed to explore some of Luxembourg city. It was much, much bigger than I expected. From Chris’s past descriptions, I was expecting tumbleweeds blowing down the deserted high street!

The old town fortifications were really pretty and the residential area down in the valley was as nice as any European old town we have visited. Imagine a river flowing through a valley filled with sweet old houses, a cathedral a weir and old castle ruins. That is what you get in the old area of Luxembourg.

The town is full of contrasts. The new town, not too far away has towering glass office blocks where the thousands of bankers work. The upmarket shopping areas were full of designer shops and saw loads of very serious bling roaming about! Just a kilometre away we saw loads of very dodgy characters. I suppose every city has that sort of contrast but for some reason, it seemed so much more obvious in Luxembourg.

We only had a really short time to visit the place so I’m sure this blog will not do Luxembourg any justice at all. I’m sure the countryside is quite pretty. I had big plans of taking photos of the countryside on our second day but before I knew it, the sign on the side of the road was welcoming us to Belgium!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



9th September 2009

Hi!
I just found your blog through a recommendation of another travelbloggers...Wow...we've been to so many of the same places with few weeks difference. So I chose to comment on your entry of Luxembourg, place where I was born and that I left 14 years ago. You wouldn't believe it, but they can party quite hard in Luxembourg these days...wouldn't believe it personnally till I spoke to some of my old friends. You've got a great blog...and I'm waiting for your next trip. Peter

Tot: 0.438s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 29; qc: 143; dbt: 0.1819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb