Luxembourg


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg » Luxembourg City
June 16th 2008
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The chateauThe chateauThe chateau

Where we take classes
So clearly I've been here quite a few weeks already, but I wanted to do this awhile ago and I'm finally getting around to it. I got to Lux on May 15th and we had an orientation weekend where we went around Differdange (the city in Luxembourg where I'm staying) and Luxembourg city. That weekend we went and saw the American and German burial sights of the Battle of the Bulge. We also went on a walking tour around Luxembourg city so we could start to orient ourselves if we ever make it around that area (about a 45 minute train ride to the city from where I'm staying). We also went on a wine tasting tour and we had a group BBQ at a restaurant.

During this trip we stay with host families. Mine speaks almost no English so I'm definitely having to put my French skills to use, which are not near as good as I wish they would be. My family has 3 girls, 13, 8, and 9, so it's always pretty crazy around here. The houses are really interesting because they're all connected together and have about 4 floors to them and are very square. I'm not usually around the house much because our chateau (where we take classes) is open till about 10 and I like to stay there and hang out w/ people and grab dinner since I'm living by myself. It has been really different living with another family, especially with one that I can barely speak to, but it's definitely a good experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

part of Lux citypart of Lux city
part of Lux city

if you can't tell....its quite hilly


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb