The Castle of Kaunas


Advertisement
Lithuania's flag
Europe » Lithuania » Kaunas
September 6th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

These days I met some old travel companions of mine and we talked about our expedition in Eastern Europe from some while back. There were many beautiful things that we saw, the people were wonderful, even if we could barely understand them, the language was melodious but who knows what they were actually saying, right?
And I also remember well the Castle of Kaunas in Lithuania, because I met someone special there and well… you know how it goes. Anyway, the castle is really an impressive sight, it’s really old, from the 13th century or so and some crusaders happened around at some time or other and made a mess of it. And then it was reconstructed and then the river (the Neris, I think) came along and kidnapped all its towers. But it’s still impressive, trust me. I wish I still had some photos around. Oh well…
There was a beautiful legend about this castle, but I don’t remember it very well anymore. Something about the survivors of the siege lain by the crusaders. Only 36 people made it, but they somehow got into trouble anyway and now they’re damned, cursed forever and all that, burning in the fires of Hell along with the crusading knights. And their torment will end only when an innocent person will free them by entering the castle through a special secret doorway and find them. As I remember it, neither me, nor any of my friends found any burning individuals back there, only modern burning items, such as neon sculptures and ultraviolet lights. Maybe we weren’t innocent enough.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb