Dobie Training Day #6


Advertisement
Europe » Kosovo » East
October 3rd 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Here comes the sprayHere comes the sprayHere comes the spray

photo courtesy ND PAD
This was definitely one of those training days that Davina warned me about. She said, “sometimes you have to do things that you don’t want to do, you will be scared during the training and there may even be times that you don’t understand why you are doing what you are doing.” Okay, I will never doubt her words of wisdom again.

We started the day by riding a bus out to the training site in one of those buses they call “cattle trucks”. I laughed real hard with my soldier friends today when we were all jammed into this bus where you had to stand up and hold onto the upper railings. We could hardly move we were so close together and then as soon as the bus started to move all the soldiers started to moo. Yes moo. Just like cows. It was so loud and they seemed real practiced at this activity because the moo’s were almost in harmony with each other. Then there was jokes and lots of laughing amongst them all. They sure seem to have a lot of fun no matter what they’re doing.

Once we arrived at our training location some big
Direct hit!Direct hit!Direct hit!

photo courtesy ND PAD
dude in army pants and a black t-shirt started talking real seriously. “Hello soldiers, you are about to undergo some of the most uncomfortable training you will ever receive. It is imperative that you understand the effects of Pepper Spray and why we may possibly have to use it during crowd control. This is not optional training and please do not take it personal, we are only training to make you better trained soldiers and more prepared for your future mission. Nobody wants to be involved in crowd control, but if you are, you will be very smart about the non-lethal weapons that you can utilize. And, by the way, make sure you wash your clothes after this training event.”

Wow, I was intrigued by his every word and paid attention best I could, but was slightly disrupted by the soldier standing next to me. He kept mumbling under his breath about being nervous and how bad this was going to hurt his eyes. On and on he went and finally I had to tug on his pant leg and as he looked down at me I was like, “Hey buddy, give it a break. You’re freaking me out.
Trying to do those combat movesTrying to do those combat movesTrying to do those combat moves

photo courtesy ND PAD
Let’s just find the fun in this.” He relaxed a little after that and then started to listen to the instructor.

The instruction were simple. Stand in front of the instructor, hands down to your sides. The instructor would give you a blast of pepper spray directly to your face and then without wiping your eyes you had to run over to another instructor and do a few combat moves and try to maintain your composure until you could get to the face wash racks. At the face wash racks there will be another instructor that will provide eye and face wash for you. Do not grind your knuckles into your eyes and do not panic.

One by one soldiers lined up for the pepper spray treatment. We all watched in anticipation as we patiently waited. If a soldier got one of those streaming spray that made perfect contact we would all grimace and mutter about what a great shot that was. Then we started to cheer the soldiers on that they could make it through the combat obstacles. Oh my gosh, I can hardly stand the stress. I’m nervous and felt like my eyes already burned before
Special eye washSpecial eye washSpecial eye wash

photo courtesy ND PAD
I even got sprayed. Funny how your mind can play tricks on you.

Next thing I knew, it was my turn. I cautiously stepped up to the designated spraying area and for a moment had a passing thought…Do I really want to be a soldier? Psssttt…Whoa! What the heck..I’m blind, it stings, I want to rub. People are all yelling, I can’t decipher just one persons voice and next thing I know I am running in the direction of the voices. I can’t seem to open up my eyes. Snot is running out of my nose, I have no control of the liquids that are oozing out of my eyes. It seems like forever until I get to the combat area. I throw a couple of punches at the plastic barricade the instructor is holding and then all I want to do is get this stuff off my face. Yowza! This isn’t too much fun, sure ain’t gonna volunteer to do this again!

I staggered to the face washing station and it seems like complete chaos. The instructor is yelling directions to us. We are groaning and rubbing his secret face and eye cleaning solution. I know he
gimme water!gimme water!gimme water!

photo courtesy ND PAD
doesn’t mean to yell at us, but the moment is crazy loud with everybody trying to get some sanity about themselves. And then finally it happens. It stops burning. Then like every good soldier, we all start talking about our experience. The stories are crazy funny and not that anybody would ever want to do it again, but we engage ourselves back into watching all our buddies and giving them encouragement as they go through the training.

This training might be those experiences when they say that soldiers grow closer together by experiencing those not so pleasant moments as a team. We all were focused on surviving the training together that I think a bond was formed. We all made it! Nobody got hurt and there was at least a few times that we actually laughed, both at ourselves and at others.

I sure wish I could be a soldier. I think I am doing a good job and trying real hard at everything. Maybe some day they will need a fill in soldier in Kosovo. I can only wish!

Next training for me…Tactical wall climbing!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Can't get enough waterCan't get enough water
Can't get enough water

photo courtesy ND PAD
Don't rub your eyes too hardDon't rub your eyes too hard
Don't rub your eyes too hard

photo courtesy ND PAD
All my friends washing upAll my friends washing up
All my friends washing up

photo courtesy ND PAD


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb