Puglia is calling


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 20th 2016
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 40.7288, 17.5774

Jasper has been very quiet and I can tell by the tremor in his voice he is excited to be on the road today. I'm leaving Vasto for Puglia.

Lots of kisses and ciao ciao as I left the Bontempo Suite. I get quite comfortable at each location as I become familiar with the owners and feel safe.

The drive to Ostuni is about four hours, which I enjoy. Only difficulty is taking photos along the way. The strangest sight today on the highway, just outside of Bari. Girls started appearing in random spots along the roadside, sitting in chairs, standing near bushes, wearing suspenders, gstrings, negligees. This is midday, along a busy highway, in the middle of nowhere. I almost crashed the car rubbernecking. Jasper gave me no warning of this. Sorry no photos Michael and Les.

I arrived at Ostuni, however B&B Pietra Bianca was not where Jasper thought. Had to phone the owners who collected me and took me on a different road, a few kilometers away. I'm getting used to this.

I have a nice room although smells a little of smoke. I overlook Ostuni (see photo).

Had a little rest and plucked up the courage to drive into town. I find I'm at a bit of a loss in the afternoons. Shops close (and I'm tired of shopping) and restaurants don't open until 730pm. The last few nights I've picnicked at home but tonight I want a meal. It means waiting around town until evening, hence I sit, have a wine or two, write my blog, and wait.

I'm also worried I'll get lost in town and won't find my way back to the car so I often don't venture very far. Once the shops open, I'll find a map and try to get comfortable.

...

Ok got a map. Got my bearings. Took a walk of the historical centre, the usual cathedral, churches and had a look at the archeological museum. It's difficult to get my head around hundreds of years B.C. Gets a bit same old after a while.

Now it's 530pm and I'm starving (no lunch). What to do till 730pm? An aperol spritz will kill some time and it's happy hour so olives and nuts to go with. Need Les and G here to have a natter, snigger at passers by and life in general. We try not to talk about work, for Les-o. People seem happy to sit at cafes watching the world for hours. I GET BORED and prefer to walk.

G - I've finally spotted a trend. Any sandals with a white rubbery sole. (Yes I'm still sitting at a cafe).

Tonight I dined on Orecchiette - a speciality in Puglia. Divine. Had an awesome meal and home tucked up in bed by 930pm. Nighty night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.36s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb