Rome- Just can't get enough


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
October 23rd 2010
Published: June 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As Jon and my time in london wound down there was less and less time to see more of Europe. Although it was my fourth visit I just could not get enough of Rome and find myself seeing something new to love about the city each visit. This time I went with Jenny, Paul, Sargon and Jon. Bruno was the instigator of the trip but he never made it to his flight and couldn't join us. This time I stayed on the other side of Rome near the Villa Borghese Park. This was a quiter part of town which didn't really suit my style of being in the thick of things. It was a short weekend trip with little time to do soooooo much.
First stop was the Vatican to take another look at the Sistine Chapel. Annoyingly, the line was really long but when we finally got there it was worth the wait all over again. We actually sneaked some illegal photos. Jenny and I spent some time in the Vatican square while the boys went to the basilica. The sun was great after a long time in London without it. While we soaked up the rays we had fun chatting up the polizia who spent most of their time trying to get us to a party that night and not watching out for the well being of the people lol. We got so wrapped up in all the attention that we lost track of time and the boys calls, to find out where we were.
I got to re-visit my favourite pizza place Alice's and it was worth the wait. I can never get out of my head that delicious, crispy base and yummy sauce ohhhhhhh...... I want to go back now. We visited the best gelato place in Rome San Crispino. loads of cool and interesting flavours. They don't serve the gelato in cones because they believe it effects the taste of the ice-cream. We went back 4 times over the weekend. Jon found his favourite coffee shop and I could not get enough of the chocolate coated coffee beans they also sell. In Rome they charge you 10 euro to sit and have a coffee but to stand at the same shop at the bar they charge 2 euros RIPP OFF!
A definite highlight for me was heading back to the Colosseum and soaking up the sun on the grass at the foot of the ancient icon. I laid there for almost 1 hour absorbing the sounds of the tourists, smelling that italian air that is so comforting and looking up at the blue sky between the columns. It was a most memorable and peaceful time and something I can't wait to do again.......... I am in love with Rome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 80; dbt: 0.1026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb