When in Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
January 21st 2011
Published: January 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I know, I know! But no other title would fit quite as well so I went with it!
Alex and I landed in Rome at the Fiumicino airport. You step off the plane into what could be mistaken for a shopping mall! Designer after designer shop all line the way to baggage claim. Alex and I twisted and wound our way through the shops and made it to a baggage reclaim area... Unfortunately it was not the correct one for us. We walked out of the baggage reclaim area through customs and out of the airport. My passport was never checked or stamped. We were directed to lost luggage because they could not understand that it was not our luggage that was lost but Us that were lost!!! After asking a few people we finally were taken back through security where our bags and passports were looked at and then we found our bags waiting alone on the floor by the empty carousel. We got our bags and walked back through customs unchecked and once again our passports were not checked.... We grabbed a cab to Alex's cousin's flat near the center of Rome.
Cristina, Alfredo, Julia, Alexandro welcomed us into their home with open arms. Their flat was on the 4th floor, it was spacious with multi tone wooden floors and large green double doors to the main entries that I loved! Julia let Alex and I have her room which was so nice of her and Alex and I were grateful to be in a soft, warm, comfortable bed! Lunch was fresh salami, prosciutto, parmesan, olives, crusty rolls, and a type of salad that is only made in Rome(sorry can't remember the name of it). It was all fantastic! We pulled out our dirty laundry and made good use of their washer and dryer. We then went with Julia and Alexandro to walk their 2 dogs. Afterwards Alexandro and Julia took us to a local "bar" (more like a pastry/coffee/ice cream shop!) We tried maronglasse(a chestnut that has been turned into a sweet, sugary, soft, dessert) and Granita (a cup of fresh whipped cream-that is not sweet- on top of what can only be described as a coffee snow cone texture) It is divine! After that Julia and Alexandro drove us around town and pointed out and explained the importance of many historical sites; plaza's, fountains, monuments, parks, statues and the Coliseum. It was dark out by the time we got to the Coliseum and so we got to see it with all the lights on it which was nice. Then we went back to the house to get ready for dinner. We went over to Alex's other cousin, Claudia's house and had dinner with her and her daughter, Agnese. The thing I did not know about their dinner ways is that everything is brought out separately and no one starts the next course till the last person finishes and you have to finish what is on your plate! We started with trotline Then there was salad and bread and then dessert which was what they call The Queen's Cake. It was so yummy, thin pastry with custard/creamy layers in between! And of course we all had some red wine with dinner. We sat around afterwards talking until everyone was sleepy.
The next day Alex and I were taken down into town by Cristina and Alexandro and shown around a bit. Then Alex and I wondered on our own. We went to the Coliseum and the ruins surrounding it. Walked through the gardens till the sun began to set and then made our way back towards the main street. For lunch we ate at a little place down a side ally and had wonderful pizza and wine. Then we had ice cream while walking around town and roasted chestnuts(which was a first for me)! As night fell Alex and I arrived at the Vatican city walls. They are high and flat, besides the tops of a few buildings we could not see anything. We made our way over to St. Peters Basilica. You walk through a stone arch way into a large plaza. There was a fountain in the middle and next to it was a large nativity scene set up and lit by lights. I walked around and circled the fountain. Then you have to go through security, walk through a metal detector and put your bag through a scanner. There is a large queue area but there was no queue for us since it was not busy when we went. After that you walk past more security guards and then bags are checked. You can take a camera inside... But my batteries died half way through... Its ok though pictures were hard to take anyways. Inside it was dark. It is massive, super high ceilings, large open spaces, side open rooms, statues, confession booths, an entry way to a tomb(that is not open to go into) and the traditional pews and altar area as well. I think it would be better to see in the day. With the natural light coming in I am sure it is much more awe inspiring but because it was dark we could not see the paintings on the ceilings and therefore did not get the full effect. The overall feel inside, I felt to be melancholy. Maybe it was because we were there at night though. Anyways we had to get back to the flat for dinner Cristina was cooking for us. Dinner was pasta - homemade pasta! We started with a tomato based pasta sauce with what I thought was bacon. I later found out that it was not bacon but pig cheeks... Our second course was salad and then pizza(in the sense of thin crispy bread with tomato sauce and melted cheese on it). Alex and I got a tiramisu for dessert and we all ate till we were thoroughly stuffed. After that we waited for Julia to get ready to go out for a drink.
In the evenings the mist sets in and it gets a bit cooler but it is also so pretty when the mist is hanging in the air lit by yellow light from the street lamps. We went to a little pub and had Italian beer and then we walked around, Julia showed us a few more historical spots and a few other fountains. Just like in the movies the fountains always had lovers wrapped in each other’s arms kissing the night away. Really is a romantic scene at night. Then she took us to the Trevi Fountain!!!
I am so glad that we went to see it at night! There were not many people there and the lighting was beautiful! I have to say this is one of the few things that we saw on our trip that is just as magical in person as it seems in the movies! I absolutely loved it, I could have stood there all night but Julia had school the next day and so we had to head back home 😊
The next day Alex and I slept in and then decided to explore the area around the flat. There are lots of little side streets and bakery’s and parks. We wondered around, picked a bakery for lunch where we had pasta and grilled veggies. Then we walked around for a while some more. I got a summer dress in one of the shops we wondered into, I know, it’s not exactly summer dress weather but it will be soon enough I figured! Then we headed back to the flat to get ready for dinner with Christina's mom that evening.
We went to a local restaurant that they say is the best, and it was fantastic! Christina knows the owner and so she ordered an array of dishes to be brought out to the table. First, we started with fresh Italian salami and cheese with bread. Then, the first type of pasta came out. I knew that we had 3 different pastas coming and so I thought, ok I don’t want to get too full so I won’t eat all of what they bring out.... WRONG!!! hahaha Everyone at the table had finished the first course of pasta and I was leaving a bit but they were not taking my plate... Alex leaned over and said "you know they won’t take your plate till you eat all the pasta!" Oh No seriously! I’m already feeling a full feeling coming on though... So Alex had a bite off of my plate and I finished what I had left. It was not until I was done that the waiter immediately came over and took my plate. The next course was brought out. This one was my favorite! It was a gnocchi with a tomato based sauce with minced beef and it was a bit creamy. The sauce was amazing and I’m not usually a gnocchi fan but this one was just super good! I had no trouble finishing off my plate I loved the sauce so much but I was feeling full now and was not sure how I would get another plate down haha. The third pasta was brought out and it was the favorite of the family, I did not like it as much but it also could have been because I was so full. Luckily everyone was getting full and they took my plate after I had only a few bites cause there was no way I could eat any more. We sat around chatting for a while and drinking wine and then they brought out the dessert, cream brule! It was super yummy and a nice small portion so I ate it all! hahaha
I have to say it is probably a good thing I don't live in Italy cause I would gain 500 pounds! Our Rome experience consisted of some history, some shopping, some family time, and LOTS of great food! The Roman people were really friendly and I found had a pride in who they are that you don't really notice as much anywhere else. They were Roman! And they were very proud of it, they knew a lot about their culture and history and food! Our time in Rome was great and I don't think either of us really wanted to leave so soon, 4 days was just not enough for us food lovers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 64, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



25th January 2011

WOW
Holy Cow!!! Awesome pictures of Rome, Ness. That's one place I've always wanted to see--that and England/Scotland. You are making me think very seriously about planning and booking a trip. Thank you for all your stories and pics! What a fantastic experience for you and Alex. Be safe, girls, and keep the blogs coming! Cherie
25th January 2011

Diet
I'm gaining weight just reading about it. tg

Tot: 0.436s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb