To get caught up before we leave: Rome, Venice and Munich


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
June 21st 2010
Published: June 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I know reading the title may seem daunting to you now, but as I sit in berlin´s JetPack Hostel (minus the jet pack) watching a Jet Li movie in German it will not be as overwhelming as that, I promise this post will be short and to the point with some puns, as yall might be expecting, in here. First off, there was Rome, where unfortunately, James Hunter McCoy Haisten and this Fisser wolf pack managed to miss each other by mere minutes. When it comes to speaking about Rome, I feel like Forrest Gump. We were on our feet most of the day, but Brandons used to that-working the streets and all-constantly seeing sights. We arrived and started the day like most of our days, missing a walking tour, so we decided to buy a delicious slice if pizza, costing us a pretty penny, another rookie tourist mistake by us. But we still ended up going to St. peters and the Colosseum and little stops on the way, getting me to think of what type of monument or statute I want built for me when I take over the world with the dolphins as ocean allies. (I know I can say things like this because our blog views have dropped from 140 to 35 over these 40 something days). I did rub dirt in my hands like Russel Crowe and was ready to jump down into the arena when security guards almost tackled me, but it was unfair, I did not have my sword or shield with me, but my manager, brandon, talked them out of arresting me. We also visited the vatican, shaking hands with the pope, which is pretty much like shaking jesus hand, I mean he is the right hand of Jesus who is the right hand of God, so we are now pretty much holy...ladies eat your heart out. (I know I can say things like this because our blog views have dropped from 140 to 35 over these 40 something days). Anyways, to the highlight of Rome, Dino e Tonis, "Hey DINO!", "HEY TONI!" (we promised them we´d say that) we were in the midst of Italians. No one spoke english, and there was no menu, and it was the best food we´ve ever had. Five courses and four table wines later, they gave us our bill by having us tell them what we had...which as aforementioned (TCU degree) was quite difficult with no knowledge of italian. VENICE: Camp Alba Doro, where we stayed was paradise. But like everything in life (you know who you are pretty thang) nothing worth having comes easy. All I can say about that (Forrest Gump style again) is that we took multiple busses and talked to multiple people and called them, Camp Alba Doro, only to catch the last bus there at 10:30. Keep in mind, we got to Venice at 6:00 and Camp Alba Doro (Paradise) is in the outskirts of Venice. Toga party and pool party ensued and met amazing people: South Africans, Kiwis, Aussies, and an Iowan. The switch in prose is because Brandon will be writing about the rest of Venice and maybe Munich. (Between you and me, I don´t think it will be any good). Brandon here you go: Matt is a bastard and thinks that my blogging skills are inferior... little does he know that a genius has just stepped into the writers seat. We started our way into venice via bus (actually heading the right direction for once) where we met a dude from New Orleans, his two cents about Venice was that the water is "actually pretty clean" when at that point Matt hoped into his lap. And as the aforementioned quote (asu), "I don´t know think anyone will read this". Alright, that is enough of that Brandon, just to let you see why he is the photographer, I let him write a little bit. We strolled around Venice, Brandon bought an amazing hat and we bought some wine and people watched the canals. We then caught our first night train sleeper to Munich, where we met a Celmson girl, Katie, who in the middle of the night apparently was staring directly at Brandon (his words, which may or may not have been true), but we arrived at 6 am in Munich. One of my favorite stops, beer gardens, lederhosen (sp?) and amazingness everywhere, not to mention the beer oh and the world cup started. Munich in a nutshell consisted of parks, beer, surfing and the world cup, and a visit to the old bayern stadium to watch Germany´s first game. Yes people surf in berlin, Brandon tried it and was signed to a two year billabong contract, so watch out for the ads of him beer and surfing. The one day that defines Munich includes our visit to Dachau, where unimaginable things occurred, no one can truly explain to you what concentration camp prisoners went through until you visit a site such as this. After, I know it may sound terrible, but we went to a church...of sorts...the Augustiner Brewery, the only beer to still be brewed in a monastery. And watched the USA vs England game with, Brad and Martin (two Americans, one Texan) and Lee the Awesome Aussie (as we call him). Ended up we drank a few too many liters. The two Americans left through the window (they were 50 years old) and Lee passed out at a train station only to be awaken by police but then fell asleep on the train. Sorry Lee, everyone must know about this. We saw him later the next night where i was going to "post" and ended up "posting" but then "I love Lucy" came in, i mean on, and my "posting" did not happen online. Munich ended with a bang and three hangovers, one for me, two for Brandon. We will save the rest of the trip, Prague, Krakow, Berlin and back to Amsterdam for the next two days. We may even post final thoughts if you want it baby birds, but i doubt many people have read to this point, especially with no pictures, but for those of you who have, thank you and god bless. Boats and hoes.

Advertisement



22nd June 2010

Kra-pow-pow
Krakow girls as nice as advertised? In the friendly, help you accross the street way of course... I'm still reading faithfully...I appreciate the shout-out... Hope Brandon is still " O-man"-ing it and I hope the leatherman is still going strong... never leave home with out it
23rd June 2010

I am still reading!!
I am still reading..... I love it, I can't wait to hear more of it.... it should be a song, like the countyr song! I have been following and love all of the photos..... What happened with Katie? What is a Celmson girl? Should I be afraid? Love you guys!

Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb