Ages til Autumn !


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto
May 30th 2009
Published: October 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ciao bloggers ! Another Al Fresco summer is well underway and 6 weeks in we are already having a heatwave and melting in 30 odd degrees. All 54 mobile homes full this weekend so no sign of a recession affecting our bookings.

Montage is long ago completed and the season routine of cleaning and repping now familiarly interspersed with pizza and spritz. Have fallen off my bike as is customary at beginning of season, but completely sober at 4 o’clock in the afternoon and only because a german lady was on wrong side of the road and I couldn’t brake as I had beach towel and book in one hand!

My team this year seem good and keen, Nick who worked in Brittany last year is good at fixing things and Adam & Kate who were ski chalet hosts in winter are good at cleaning and making beds. Also have John from last year and Kerry kids club rep. All know how to cook and do their own washing which is a first!

This summer I have my own place separately from them all, so I can have a bit of privacy. My new van is on Camping Sonia a 1* (* for a shower block) campsite 300m down the road. I am surrounded by local weekenders caravans so have got myself an Italian phrase book so I can attempt to communicate with them. Apparently there are no spare pitches for me on Marina 2000 unless I want to live in our store amongst the dirty linen and spare parts. I now have a 5 minute bike commute to and from work so the Marina diet might be even better this year so long as it isn’t sabotaged by visitors having 2 scoops of ice cream a day!

Mum & Cath came to spend a week here making my birthday a special one. They arrived bearing mature cheddar, magazines, books & shampoo and everything else I couldn’t fit in my 20k Easyjet luggage allowance. For the big day they spoilt me with a bucks fizz breakfast and lunch on Venice equivalent of the Riviera and dinner for 12 at the campsite restaurant with surprise cake. Quite glad that it’s all over and I can forget about it now, the build up somehow seemed worse than the actual event and the day after I still felt exactly the same, still wondering where life will take me next.

Many people here thought they had misheard when I told them which number birthday it was, so I can safely say Summer is still here for a while yet before I start the Autumn of my life.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb