Day 22: Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
August 25th 2017
Published: August 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I slept in until 10:00 am. I had groceries so I didn't need to go out to eat. It felt good to eat cereal while watching Italian TV. For the next four hours I planned to rest of my trip, save for my last night's accommodation in London. I'd be taking the train to Venice and spending two nights at a hostel there. Then I'd be flying to Valencia for three nights in a hostel, with a five hour layover in Barcelona. Lastly, a flight to London for one night. Watching the $/€/£ signs fly by made me start to feel the pinch. I was on budget until the car rental in Germany and the Airbnb and motorcycle rental here. Alessio was not kidding about the mosquitoes in Florence, even during the day. I was going to go to a place Alessio recommended Arà is Sicilia for arancini (a breaded rice ball filled with meat and pasta sauce) and canolis (a rolled cookie/pastry filled with cream cheese like icing) but ran out of time. I was also supposed to meet Marina. At 5:00 pm I had to pick up the motorcycle. The guy at the rental place let me use his own gloves since I didn't have mine. The motorcycle was a Moto Guzzi V7. When in Italy, ride Italian. On the way back to the apartment I got so turned around in central Florence. So many criss crossing, narrow, slab lined streets. It was extremely challenging, but the bike and I made it back safely. I cleaned up and met Marina at Piazzala Michaelangelo. I was a bit disappointed as I missed the sunset. The view would have been tremendous. We walked to Arà, but unfortunately they closed early. I found arancinis and canolis at another place nearby. We are in a sitting area in a bus loop. I had to get up early for a long day so I headed home at 11:00 pm. I'm not sure why but the bus was free at that hour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb