Striped poles and blown glass


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 23rd 2004
Published: June 23rd 2004
Edit Blog Post

By the RialtoBy the RialtoBy the Rialto

I stopped to pose by one of the more colorful poles I encountered which happened to be in front of the Rialto bridge.
I'm surrounded by water, gondolas, and striped poles. Venice is quite the rarity. I enjoyed one full day in Venice to explore and take in the sights and sounds. Since I've already been here, I wanted to return to my favorite spot. Murano.
I took boat number 5 out to Murano to walk around. It's quieter than S. Marco piazza which was packed when I wandered through in the morning. As soon as I stepped off the boat, I attended a free glass blowing exhibition. I was amazed by the skill this old weathered man exhibited. How can one so rustic produce such fragile, beautiful works of art? I guess you can never really judge.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Quiet MuranoQuiet Murano
Quiet Murano

This island was a welcome escape from the crowds of Venice.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb