The Grand Canal of Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 6th 2012
Published: June 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Im right in the middle of the island of Venice,and have finally sat down for abreak after rushing about exploring the city. I had a deep sense of urgency to visit this place after reading an article in the recent past about how Venice is crumbling, in danger of tumbling straight into these famous canals. And having walked around here, I see what they mean, this entire island is in a huge state of disrepair, decay. While I sets a striking scene as far as ambience goes, for the future I do worry for the structural integrity of Venice.

The first thing you have to know about this city is that the water is the star of the show. I mean the canals, the aquablue waters and the buildings that housshuhe people and shops of Venice. There is art everywhere, with buildings adorned with religious and historical images, and yet very few tourists pay it any attention. Italian made glass jewelry is what gets tourists excited here, and the gelato of course.

I've been upgraded to a hotel instead of the hostel I had signed up for because the tourist season hasn't officially started and they haven't technically opened thaat on exist yet, so good for me, no freakingtypo bunk for this Lil old lady for a couple days at least.

There is a huge difference between the serious, understated manner of the swiss and these Italians, huge! I had grown comfortable in Switzerland, too comfortable for my own good so this has been a great change of pace and a great ingroduction to Italy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



7th June 2012

Love love it!
7th June 2012

TRIP
YOU GO GIRL...HAVE LOTS OF FUN...

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb