Where did Summer go?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 27th 2008
Published: September 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ciao! I’m sorry to say I’ve been a bit blogging useless this season keeping my friends and family up to date with the comings and goings in Italia. It has been a season of ups and downs from beginning to end…

No sooner had we got the opening weekend out of the way, the kidz club reps arrived and started fighting. 10 days, lots of tears and shouting later one went home. Just after that drama subsided, I had to fly home unexpectedly. After only 4 days at home in April, it was with mixed emotions that I got to go back to UK and see my family under such sad circumstances in June.

Returning to the holiday frontline 10 days later, my team had coped admirably and a new kidz rep had arrived. First impressions were good, she seemed a lot more sane than the first one, little did I know, as she also resigned 2 days later ! Getting a bit of a complex and school holidays approaching fast, a passing comment on the phone and then Rosy my colleague from Chamonix was on her way over to be our new kidz rep. And just when she had settled in and we thought there could be no more trauma with kidz club, the roof blew down in a gale the day before the UK boss came for site visit!

Having Rosy here over the busiest high season weeks turned out to be a mixed blessing. A friend and confidante to share things with, but also a member of my team. Conflicts between Rosy and the other kidz rep were difficult for me to resolve impartially and gossip amongst the team about me put Rosy in an awkward position. The contrast in my responsibilities between winter and summer and my dual personality became all too evident.

A trip home for more happy occasions at the end of August was a much needed boost to see me through the last few weeks. Spending a few days with everyone at Laleham, having lunch with friends on a sunny Richmond riverside reminded me of what I miss most apart from mature cheddar and branston!

September is a whole lot more relaxed here, customers are all gone now so in between counting spoons and descaling kettles, there’s quite a lot of time for end of season reflection and the question on everyone’s lips is ‘Are you coming back next year?’

Al Fresco is expanding here, I’ve just been offered Senior Supervisor role for next year with more customers, more money, another rep and a mobile home to myself. Time to weigh up the pros and cons; the weather here is enviably better than UK despite the odd hail storm and gale! I am a tanned and toned size smaller than when I arrived and what other job can you spend a couple of hours on the beach everyday? The stresses and strains of cranky customer complaints pale into insignificance compared to commuting, credit crunch and claustrophobia that London has to offer.

Life’s too short as I’ve been reminded again this year, so who knows what I’ll do and where I’ll decide to celebrate my big four O next summer? Meanwhile I’ll be flying home on Weds 1st Oct and out again to Chamonix on Sun 9th Nov so I hope to catch up with you all sometime soon. Can’t wait to have a curry !

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb