Venice, Italy - Day 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 22nd 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Musicians Musicians Musicians

San Polo Church, next to Campo San Polo
Since we did not get to bed until 3am and had a little more to drink than realized, we slept in missing our complimentary breakfast. We slowly woke up and finally made it out into the sunshine and life of Campo San Polo. I was still having some trouble figuring out my cell phone and we had no idea on the current time. We thought about 11am. Europe goes by military time and that threw me off when I programmed the time on my phone.

When we emerged into Campo San Polo wondering what time was it? I ask a lady sitting on bench and she informed me to MY SHOCK that it was past 1:30pm in the afternoon. I literally gasped out loud - not believing it was already that late in the day and we have only this day to see all we can of Venice. I recover from shock and properly program my phone so this does not happen again and swear I will not be drinking that much again on this trip- ya right!

We are still a bit hung over and need to find some coffee quick. However we are distracted by the beauty of Venice and just walking around -mostly looking up. Immediately we turn the corner and realize our Campo San Polo had a big church on the corner of it. Outside were a couple of musicians playing for change. Coffee shops are everywhere and we found one quickly on our way to see the Frari Church known officially as “Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari”.

We sit awhile drinking our coffees and watch the people go by and a bit blurry from the night before. I enjoy watching a local man and his little scruffy dog talk to a shop lady before we proceed to the Frari Church. We make our way through the Venice maze and snap pictures as we go.

We make it to our site destination of the Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari. This church is really neat and it requires its own entry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 95, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Color of VeniceColor of Venice
Color of Venice

Bell Tower peeking out...
Italian FlagItalian Flag
Italian Flag

Ornate architecture in the background
Calle Amor Dei AmiciCalle Amor Dei Amici
Calle Amor Dei Amici

The Love of Friends Street
Afternoon CappucinoAfternoon Cappucino
Afternoon Cappucino

Afternoon becuase we did not get out bed until 1pm!
Go ahead, make my day!Go ahead, make my day!
Go ahead, make my day!

Little dog with a big attitude.


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 86; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb