Day 11: Crespano Market


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Paderno del Grappa
May 24th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This Isn't Even the Half of ItThis Isn't Even the Half of ItThis Isn't Even the Half of It

In fact, this is only about 1% of the shops set up at Crespano Market. There were hundreds of vendors peddling various and sundry wares.
This morning I started my day by shopping at the open air market in Crespano. It runs only on Sundays and is a mix of part farmer’s market, part flea market, and part travelling Woolworth’s. (Remember that place??) I heard that Crespano Market was quite the shopping experience. But I had no idea.

Cars were parked at least a kilometer down the road—and this was early in the morning. Parking was much crazier later on. The vendors lined up along the streets of Crespano, selling everything from fresh octopus to cheap shoes. I thought that I would walk through it and be back home in a half hour or so. Clearly, I was wrong.

Strung end to end, there were probably close to a couple kilometers of stations that wove up and down city streets. Foods available included rotisserie chicken, fresh seafood, many fresh fruit and vegetable stands, and locally produced cheeses and sausages, to name a few. I was intrigued by the olive stand. So I requested un poco e un poco e un poco (“a little and a little and a little” of each kind) for a really interesting mix. Only €2.

In terms of clothes,
Squid Anyone?Squid Anyone?Squid Anyone?

One of the most interesting--and most smelly!--vendors was this fresh seafood truck. Their very large pile of white and gooey squid was almost completely gone by the time I passed by again.
they sold everything from shoes to shorts to dresses to underwear. And just about every clothing vendor was dominated with purple attire. I noticed some purple in the Iper/Castelfrano Mall, too… but thought it was perhaps just that particular store. After seeing so much purple at each vendor, I decided to break down and buy una camicia viola (a purple shirt) that put me out €10. It’s pretty and very lightweight cotton. So it should be nice and cool when the weather starts to heat up. (Ryan can thank me later for not buying him what appears to be all the rage for men: camo-colored shorts that are printed with frilly flowers instead of the more “manly” blotches.)

But speaking of heating up: By the time I got done shopping, it was starting to get pretty hot. So I stopped by the office to do some work during the peak of the afternoon sun. I had forgotten how much I had left to do to get ready for Monday morning. My plans to climb La Rocca in later in the day were foiled by the call of duty. Maybe next time…


Advertisement



26th May 2009

cool blog!
Hey Kristen, thanks for sharing so much with all of ... your blog is really neat ... have just gotten some time to read through your days ... your pictures are wonderful! I just love it!
26th May 2009

cool blog!
Hey Kristen, thanks for sharing so much with all of ... your blog is really neat ... have just gotten some time to read through your days ... your pictures are wonderful! I just love it!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb