No Longer in Garda, but on the coast


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Lake Garda
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

LipcaLipcaLipca

Where they breed the dancing horses
Well, what have I been up to? not a lot really. After moving on from Lubliana, I went to the caves mentioned in my last entry, well worth the effort. whilst in the area I visited the stud farm at Lipica, where they breed the horses use in the Spanish riding school in Vienna (see picture). Whilst on the topic of horses, as promised, I have an equine question - I visited a town in north east Italy, where by chance there was a national show jumping competition in progress (see photo). It was on Sunday 24/9/06 and was televised, but where was it?

Going back a bit, I travelled from Lipica up to Lake Bled for a few days, whre the scenery was stunning, only ruined by the constant rain. Had some scary drives on the roads on the way, one being closed due to a major landslide with diversions on mountain tracks (not for the faint hearted).

I then moved on to Bovic, on the other side of Triglav National park, whre they do a lot of warter sport on the Soca river. Used the road over the mountains to get there & had worrying moment when
Where in Itally is this?Where in Itally is this?Where in Itally is this?

Send me a message if you think you Know where this show jumping is (see text)
brakes started to fade on the way down (had to leave to cool down for an hour). More rain made me cancel my plans to walk up to top of Triglav, however, i did go hydrospeeding down the rapids on the Soca river, with a group of guys from Derby.

On into Italy, I worked my way down to Venice, where I stayed in a carpark in Treveso for a few days and caught the train into Venice. Lots of canals & first sight of the sea since Dunkirk. Actually, I got lost in the evening (looks very different at night) and had to ask for directions back to the train station (good job I am learning to speak Italian).

My next destination, Lake Garda. Had to pay for stay in campsite here (first time in Italy). Its quite a pretty place, with lots of older people about (I have nothing against old people, it is just an observation). The weather has been somewhat kinder in Italy, with temperatures in the high 20s. thime to head for the beach, I think!!

Staying at Porto Garibaldi for a few nights, in carpark overlooking the river so I can watch the boats come in and go out. Beaches here are somewhat strange! Even with the high temperatures they are nearly empty. Also, people seem to just walk up and down along the shore. Found out why this is (not some Italian fashion). If you stay still you quickly get covered with little black insects, that bite. Also, there is an abundance of mosquitos in the region (I had 28 bites at last count). Still, cant complain.

Plan to head south, along the coast for a while, then see where I go from there.

Advertisement



6th October 2006

hi dave!
Hey Dave, sounds good. Work here is good, they are a bit unorganised but the subjects are cool!!! Speak soon, Steve.

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb